Excited to Inspire!

2 Comments


Today is my first post and I am so happy to start sharing with people.  Over the past year I have caught myself following numerous bloggers and their journeys…all of which have inspired me in one way or another. Whether it be a suggestion for a food product, a new recipe, or words of wisdom that got me through my day. I absolutely love discovering new things. Over the the past 20 years I have read and experienced a lot about Crohn’s. I want to share my experience with you and take you into my journey of regaining the best health I could possibly get through a new diet. 

I considered myself a foodie before this and did not want to give up dairy, gluten and sweets. I couldn’t fathom the idea of life without these things! About a month ago I approached a tough time in my life. I discovered I had two cases of melanoma. Then I flared severely from the stress of this news. The “C” word scares me to pieces. The idea that my body was actually producing cancer cells was a huge wake up call for me.  I see it almost as a blessing in disguise because it made me realize that I couldn’t keep going with the lifestyle I was living.  I was eating cheeseburgers and fries all the time, tons of sweets, loads of bread and processed foods and on top of it all, not exercising. Ever. I was consuming lots of caffeine and alcohol on the weekends and not drinking enough water. I guess you can say I reached a point where I didn’t care anymore about what I put in my body. I figured everything was going to make me sick anyways, so what’s the use of trying. I always wanted to try a Raw/Vegan diet but I never thought I had the discipline to keep up with it and eliminate nearly all my favorite foods….that is until I actually made the switch. 

I switched over pretty rapidly. I don’t recommend this. Not only will you go through an unpleasant detox but its hard to take out so many things at once, emotionally and physically. The only reason I chose to do it this way is because I was coming out of a flare. I hadn’t eaten anything in days so it was a very smooth transition for me. I ripped through my kitchen and threw out everything bad. I have been restocking my pantry with only Raw goods. Its just easier to not have any temptation in the house.  Its only been a few weeks, but I have never felt better. I am regular for the first time in my life!! I feel alive for the first time. When my guts are happy, I am happy. My goal is to “attack” my Crohn’s with only good things. (hey, its been attacking ME all my life…its time to fight back!!) I want to eat pure, only eat what the earth has provided and fill my body with nothing but healthy things! 

So please, come join me in my journey and let me share with you recipes, pictures, recommendations for products and lots of love and support! I am looking forward to all this and hope that I can be an inspiration to some of you. 

xo 
2 thoughts on “Excited to Inspire!

Leave a Reply

