Tight Feet?

1 Comment




As long as I can remember, I have always had tight feet and leg muscles. The balls of my feet hurt often and my leg muscles are very sensitive to touch. Never thought there was a correlation between my digestive tract and my feet until I started seeing my Acupuncturist. Your feet could be the answer to better health. Approximately 75 to 80% of today’s diseases are stress related. Reflexology is the belief that practitioners can relieve stress and pain in other parts of the body through the manipulation of the feet. Reflexology is an ancient healing art, that has been found to be very helpful against stress. There are reflex areas on the feet that correspond with organs and parts of the body.  The concept is very much like that of the blockage of an energy flow, the invisible life force or Qi, that when blocked can prevent healing. The meridian points on the extremities of the body (the feet and the hands) are particularly powerful because the Qi here, at the starting or terminal point of the meridian, is barely skin deep.  Not only does it improve the circulation of the blood, but it stimulates natural healing in the body. 

My Acupuncturist works on my feet and legs at least once a week. It is a bit uncomfortable at first but the results are amazing. I feel lighter and more free, and believe it or not, less tight in my digestive tract.  I actually feel a pressure in my intestine as she pushes on my point in my foot- its a weird but amazing feeling! At home she asks me to take a golf ball and roll my soles on it. If you want to try this technique as a starter, try a tennis ball at first. The golf ball really digs deep so you may not want to start with such an intense massage.  I have attached a video that helps direct you to certain pressure points as a general direction for your massage. (Massaging the Intestine Area of the Foot) Don’t be afraid to get in there, apply pressure and work them! Start slow, maybe once a day and take it from there. 

Move that Qi and loosen up that tight gut!
One thought on “Tight Feet?

Leave a Reply

