Good Eats

2 Comments

Today I woke up a bit tired because I went to bed late and didn’t sleep well through the night. I still forced myself to go for my morning jog. Glad I did, because it felt great. My Acupuncturist wants me to always get my Qi (blood) flowing and I want to get oxygen to my skin cells because they thrive on that! I can only alternate between a fast walk and slow jog right now but I get in a little over a mile each morning and that to me is good enough. Soon I will add some distance, once my lungs and legs get used to the motions. After my jog I made a green juice like yesterdays. While enjoying my juice, I made this potato salad. I have been craving red potatoes so I picked some up the other day and I decided to make a Mayo-free dressing. 

I soaked some cashews overnight and blended with juice of one lemon, nutritional yeast, olive oil, water, a smear of garlic hummus, a smear of tahini and a little dab of mustard. (ground mustard would do as well too) I mixed together with the steamed red potatoes and added fresh chopped chives and parsley from the garden. Little Herbamare and Ground Pepper too! I will be enjoying this for dinner. 

I also took a pic of my lunch.
Sunshine Original flavor Burger with Romaine, Red Pepper, Grated Carrot, Heirloom Tomatoes, Raw Kraut. At work I topped it with a homemade dressing I made with the leftover “Mayo” and slices of avocado. (below)
I travel nearly two hours to work everyday so I take Car Snacks with me. Today I made a healthy smoothie for my ride in. 
Almond Milk with a frozen banana, powder from one capsule of Bee Propolis  (1000mg), 1 tsp of Maca Powder, 1 tsp of Cacao Powder, one scoop of Sun Warrior Vanilla Protein Powder and a heaping Tbls of Almond butter.  
Bowie even wanted some! It was really filling and lusciously delicious with such a subtle chocolate taste from the Cacao. 

Did you know?

Maca Powder is used to increase stamina, boost libido, and combat fatigue. Maca root has long been regarded as a superfood amongst Andean societies for thousands of years. It has an earthy taste that is slightly nutty with a hint of butterscotch.
Bee Propolis is a natural resinous substance made by honey bees in the process of collecting plants and bark resins for use within the beehive. Propolis is comprised of 16 amino acids and is a plentiful source of bioflavonoids, which have anti-inflammatory properties, while amino acids play an important role in maintaining a healthy immune system. It also has antimicrobial, antibacterial, antiviral and anti-fungal properties. 
Cacao has 14 times the amount of antioxidant flavanoids found in red wine, and 21 times that found in green tea! These polyphenols protect cells from free radicals and help slow the aging process. Flavonols boost blood flow, lower blood pressure, and reduce anti-inflammatory responses. Cacao is the highest whole food source of magnesium. Magnesium relaxes muscles, improves peristalsis in the bowels and relaxes the heart and cardiovascular system.

2 thoughts on “Good Eats

Leave a Reply

