My Wish List

2 Comments

I compiled a list today of things that interest me or that I want to buy. For years I have been dedicated to finding the right supplements and figuring out what actions I can take to bring health to my daily regime. It can be overwhelming to figure out what works best for your body. Its best to add one supplement at a time to be able to differentiate how your body reacts from one addition to the next. I learned the hard way of surprising my body with a whole concoction of herbs and supplements at one time. It can place your insides on overdrive! My mind seems to be the thing always in overdrive, especially when I am hunting for the next best thing to feed my body. If you are in a position like me, where you are on a journey to find your best health, the wealth of knowledge and literature out there is over-stimulating. Once you start seeing names of brands over and over again popping up on different blogs, websites and in stores, you kind of get a feel for what’s popular amongst the masses of people in the Vegan/Raw world.

I feel I have a good sense of what my body needs, now its just a matter of finding a way to feed it what it wants. I feel I am on a sound nutritional path as far as diet goes but I am not too sure how well my body is absorbing nutrients from foods and thats where supplements come to play. I do have to remember a good amount of my terminal illeum was removed, a central area in which nutrients are absorbed. I have a good chance of being deficient in zinc, B-12, potassium, magnesium and other vitamins that are absorbed in the re-sected sections of intestine. 

Here is one thing at the top of my list to introduce to my body next:

              Chlorella

It is a high protein algae that contains high amounts of magnesium and chlorophyll, a super detoxifier. Its best for pulling heavy metals out of our system. It is also a fibrous material which greatly augments healthy digestion and overall digestive track health, as well as strengthening the immune system response. A clean bloodstream, with an abundance of red blood cells to carry oxygen, is necessary to a strong natural defense system. Chlorella’s cleansing action on the bowel and other elimination channels, as well as its protection of the liver, helps keep the blood clean. Clean blood insures that metabolic wastes are efficiently carried away from the tissues.

Chlorella gets its name from the high amount of chlorophyl it possesses.  Since chlorella has such a high chlorophyll content, people find chronic bad breath is often eliminated in just a few days on chlorella. Foul smelling stools are also greatly improved and chlorophyll has been attributed to relieving constipation. It has naturally occuring enzymes in it too, which is an added bonus. 

       Chlorella Benefits:

  • Increases vital energy and metabolism 
  • Rejuvenates your digestive system 
  • Slows down aging and promotes healthy longevity 
  • Strenghthens the immune system and helps guard against illness 
  • Detoxifies and purifies the body including the removal of heavy metals. 
  • Promotes healthy cell growth and repair 
  • Has been know to relieve Fibromyalgia 
  • Balances the body’s pH levels 
  • Normalizes blood pressure and blood sugar 
  • Encourages production of Interferon(for defense against cancer) 
  • Normalizes blood pressure and blood sugar
Food Diaries:
I am on a pizza kick! This one was spinach. broccoli, fresh garlic and tomatoes topped with lots of basil. 

I made another big pot of Healing Lemon Lentil Soup. I added carrots this time, yellow squash along with mixed greens and zucchini. Instead of White Miso I bought this great product by South River Chickpea Miso. It was a great addition to this soup. I feel my iron could be low because I have been very tired lately and Lentils are a great source of natural Iron.

I bought a new brand of veggie burger called Asherah’s Gourmet. I made a few different versions. First pic is the burger only defrosted and reheated in microwave and topped with cheeze hummus, sprouts, lettuce and tomato on a rice wrap.
I also cooked in a little olive oil in saute pan and topped with tahini and cheeze and tomato.
Lastly I made it into a quesadilla. Flattened the cooked burger on a rice wrap and topped with cheeze and got it crispy in a pan with olive oil. 

While I really enjoy the taste of these, its the consistency that I am not fond of. While the outside gets a little crispy when you cook on stovetop, the inside is still very soft. You can easily shape the patty into any form you like, maybe squishing it down to thinner patties may do the trick. I really love the ingredients though. Quinoa and vegetables make for a nutritionally dense organic veggie burger full of protein. I absolutely love the slight sweetness of the sweet potato against the chunks of red bell pepper. I will definitely be playing around with this burger a little more and adding it alongside my other favorite – Sunshine Burgers!

I have been juicing every morning and I changed up my ingredients a little. I’ve been indulging in carrot, spinach, kale, apple, cucumber celery and ginger. Look at this piece of ginger I received in my produce box last week!
Speaking of ginger, I absolutely love Ciara’s Kombucha. Not only is it made locally and has a great success story behind it, I think its the best tasting one I have tried. Its mild and not too effervescent.  I enjoyed a Ginger flavor the other day and it was oh so delicious. 

Ginger and Circulation

  • stimulates circulation
  • may help prevent heart attacks
  • has natural blood thinning properties
  • lowers blood cholesterol levels
  • cleanses and stimulates blood
  • prevents internal blood clots
  • may prevent TIA’s (mini strokes)
  • therapeutic properties for hypertension

Ginger and Digestion

  • cleanses colon
  • reduces colon spasms and cramps
  • helps clear gas
  • relieves indigestion
  • excellent for nausea, vomiting and motion sickness
  • stimulates production of digestive juices
  • helps bowel disorders

Ginger and other Body Systems

  • lungs: helps with respiratory problems, eases asthma symptoms
  • helps eliminate hot flashes
  • relieves headaches
  • promotes menstrual regularity
  • helps with morning sickness
  • helps reduce inflammation of arthritis
  • supports kidney health
  • topical gingerol provides protection against UVB-induced skin disorders
  • reduces the severity of post chemotherapy nausea

Ginger and its Nutrients

  • high in potassium
  • manganese which builds resistance to disease, protects lining of heart, blood vessels and urinary passages
  • silicon which promotes healthy skin, hair, teeth and nails
  • helps assimilate calcium
  • also contains Vit. A, C, E, B-complex, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium, iron, zinc, calcium, beta-carotene
2 thoughts on “My Wish List

  1. I felt the same way about those burgers, so good, but the consistency wasn't there! πŸ™‚ looking forward to hearing how you do with chlorella, I actually like the taste of the tablets! Kinda salty! πŸ˜‰ didn't know they had magnesium, that explains why I don't crave chocolate as much! Everything looks yummy, your blog is so inspiring!

  2. I wanted to ask you how they tasted…glad to hear they aren't yukky! I'm so excited to get them. Thank you so much for all your kind words and compliments!! πŸ™‚ I love your blog too, as you already know :))

Leave a Reply

