A storm is a brewin’

3 Comments

The frenzy of the hurricane has got everyone running to the stores, including me. Good excuse to stock up on goodies! I’m going to make a big pot of soup that I can re-heat on stovetop if the power goes. Most likely will be making pizza too as long as the oven is working. My dehydrator came yesterday so I am trying to get some use out if it before the power goes out. I had the biggest smile on face when I saw it sitting on my front doorstep!! I made Garden Burgers and kale chips first time around. They were so fragrant while baking and made my house smell realllly good. I took the Sun Burger recipe I posted a few weeks ago but added garlic powder to the mix. I also added extra veggies so it would be really chunky & sprinkled with nice color. These were so easy make. I always save my carrot pulp when I juice now. You can even place in freezer bags and defrost for later use. Fresh is always best but since I live a busy life, frozen does just fine for me.

I placed the burger on a Curry Pure Wrap with lettuce, tomato and tahini.  Came out great! Just like my besties did when she made them for me. The outside turned this beautifully crispy crust and the inside was a perfect slightly dense, not-too-soft consistency. So excited I have 6 more to eat!  

I have been wanting to try to make a salt and vinegar chip. I used to love to eat the potato version almost every other day and needed to try to replicate that taste. These were super easy to make and so delicious! It was really hard for me to not eat the entire tray.

Salt & Vinegar Kale Chips

  • Kale, cut into bite size pieces
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Dulse Flakes
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Olive Oil
  • Greek Seasoning or any salt seasoning of your choice
  • pinch of Himalayan Pink sea salt, or any salt

You really want to have equal parts olive oil to vinegar, just a splash or two will do, enough to coat. The seasonings balance out the sourness of the vinegar. Cook in dehydrator at 115 for a few hours or until crispy. If you don’t have a dehydrator you can cook in oven at 250 for 15- 20 minutes or until crispy.

*Tip: I have decided to save all my previous containers of Kale Chips to store my homemade ones in. The silica gel packet that comes in these store bought containers I think is key to keeping them crispy because they absorb any moisture. You can actually buy them to use in your own containers/jars for your chips.  Here are some listings on ebay.

As suggested by my friend Lauren I got an organic probiotic drink at Whole Foods today by Kevita. Their packaging design and colors are very eye-catching. I love when a drink and its container is pretty, as well as tasty! The coconut flavor was like coconut soda heaven. What a treat to have something so good for you also please your taste-buds. I was so thirsty and this was hydrating & quenched my thirst right away. I kinda downed it a little too fast! I now want to try all the flavors they sell. My mouth is watering at the looks of this flavor, Strawberry Acai.

I call this my Hurricane Pasta Salad. I wanted something cold to easily pull out of fridge and eat during the storm in case power is out.

  • Brown rice pasta, TJ’s brand
  • halved cherry tomatoes
  • chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • artichoke hearts, frozen from TJ’s
  • diced celery
  • diced green pepper
  • sliced green olives
  • kalamata olive tapenade from TJ’s
  • fresh oregano
  • olive oil
  • apple cider vinegar (Bragg’s)
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic powder
Paid Thai with Kelp Noodles

makes 1 1/2 cups of sauce
1/4 cup almond butter
1/2 cup of coconut oil
2 tbls Tamari or Nama Shoyu
1/4 cup lemon juice
3/4 cup water
drizzle of sesame oil
1 package of *Kelp Noodles
Blend or whisk in bowl. Pour over kelp noodles and serve with favorite spiraled veggies on top. I added zucchini πŸ™‚ You can top with fresh basil, sliced cabbage, carrots, bean sprouts, red pepper, whatever you like. 
*To prepare Kelp noodles, they need to be softened by soaking. In a bowl cover Kelp noodles with water and juice of half of lemon. Let sit for 30 minutes or until desired firmness has been reached. 
I absolutely loved these noodles. So clever! The consistency was slightly chewy, soft and very adaptable to any sauce you want to put on top. 
I went to Quintessence in NYC! As I walked into this teeny tiny restaurant the whiff of raw goodness captured me as I stepped through the door. It smelled so clean and fresh! I was so excited to make it there finally and cannot wait to go back. 
O.M.G. I cannot even begin to describe to you how delicious this raw bagel was. One of those items where while I was eating it, I was wondering how it could be raw. The bagel is a thin round chewy, very bagel-like consistency, kamut bread. Its topped with “cream cheese” that tastes exactly like the real thing. I got the scallion flavor. Consistency was just like dairy cream cheese but better…silkier and smoother. it was dripping off the kamut bagel with each bite. Even the tomato was so beautifully red and tasty. I was licking my fingers. I also got a green juice…it was ok. I didn’t taste the apples and lemons that I asked for so it was definitely a very green tasting juice! All the while I still drank it and I’m sure my body loved it. 

Everyone stay safe while Irene makes her way through!
xo

3 thoughts on “A storm is a brewin’

  1. Stay safe! I have wanted to try Quintessence for awhile now! That bagel sounds amazing! Looks like you are prepared for the storm with lots of yummy food! Good call on saving the kale chip containers, and then silica packet! Mine usually don't make it out of the dehydrator. ;)Glad you like Kevita, the coconut is my fav!

  2. Hello, I just saw your post on sweetsixteen's blog. Hope you don't mind me snooping. I am always interested to following people who are doing the same life style that I do. I have been Vegetarian for one year now. Mostly I am getting healthy to lose weight. I like all your encouraging pictures on the right of your blog. Keep up the good work.

  3. Hi Raindrops-on-Roses! So happy to hear that you stopped by! Please snoop all you want πŸ™‚ Congrats on the weight loss and keep up the good work! I've been slacking this week but will be posting lots of recipes and reviews of products I pick up…I know that I love when I get a good suggestion for a product from someone else, so I try to post all my experiences. Thank you again for all your sweet compliments and drop by and say hi whenever you want!

Leave a Reply

