1 Comment

I can’t believe I’ve waited this long to post. This week flew by!  With the hurricane that hit and the baby earthquake, there was a lot of anticipation and worry present amongst everyone on the East Coast. Even though it was only a few days, I can admit that it got to me a little. I don’t mean to get stressed, I really don’t. I actually think I am a very calm person, but it’s my mind that always wonders and takes flight into my digestive system. Even when I think I’m not worrying, there is an over abundance of mindless thoughts rolling around in that head of mine. Anyways, I am so fortunate to not have had damage done to my home or yard. I didn’t even lose power which makes me feel extra lucky because most of my friends and family just got power back today!

Health Update:
I’m officially med-free as of 2 days ago. I do not recommend this to anyone without talking to your doctor. Everyone’s situation is different and this the course I am taking for myself alone. That being said, it feels really good being off Prednisone. While weaning off I was losing a lot of energy and becoming a bit systematic but I stuck through it and am seeing improvement. I received my Chlorella in the mail and so far so good. Still waiting on effects- too early to tell. The other thing I can thank for my energy lift, is the Raw Vitamins I’ve been taking. I have been sleeping so much better at night and do not have that mid-morning and afternoon crash I was used to getting. I’m also seeing improvement in the condition of my nails and hair. Yay!

As far as good eats, well this week was a nightmare in the kitchen. I tried lots of new recipes, mostly all of which I will not be sharing with you. Trial and error! Thats what makes us good cooks I guess. Since a lot fo the food wasn’t up to par,  I found myself making trips to Whole Foods to get some food from the salad bar.

This was a great salad. I made a yummy peanut dressing made of tahini, almond butter, sesame oil mixed with a touch of water. Of course I put kraut and Dulse too! (you know the Frank’s Red Hot commercial when the little old lady says she “puts that Sh#* on everything”? Yeah well thats me with the kraut and garlic dulse. I catch myself saying that to myself whenever I am putting them on something. lol. 
This big box was $9 and it lasted me three lunch servings. Maybe worth doing more often when I am short on time?
They were giving away samples of this Turmeric Drink at the Whole Foods in NYC. I am a big advocate of Turmeric for the health of my skin and so many other things, so it was exciting to see it in a drink form! I started taking a high dose of Turmeric since I developed melanomas. It has anti-inflammatory effects as well so it does double duty for me.  
I was expecting a yukky taste because Turmeric can be very bitter,  but this was surprisingly good! I picked up a bottle that is Vegan (because it is flavored with Agave rather then honey) 
This is info from their website:
Each bottle contains over 7 grams of fresh, raw and unprocessed Hawaiian organic turmeric. Curcumin, the active ingredient in turmeric, is effective in combating literally all known inflammatory agents. Because chronic inflammation is the first stage of many health problems, curcumin may reduce the risk of life challenges.
These active curcumins rejuvenate the skin, improve mental clarity, and enhance circulation while lowering high blood pressure and bad cholesterol. Curcumin in turmeric root not only aids digestion but protects and stimulates your most important digestive organs, including the liver, the pancreas, and the small and large intestines. Curcumin triggers the release of saliva, gastric juices, and bile flow, increasing the efficiency of fat metabolism. 
Studies show that curcumin can strengthen weakened cells, empower immune response and increase serotonin and dopamine levels in the brain. Medicinally, turmeric has been said to be the “Queen” of all herbs, and is recognized as one of the Earthโ€™s most transformative, healing, and versatile plants.
In the Far East people have used turmeric root for thousands of years for liver detoxification, skin tone, blood purification, pain relief, improving memory, and relieving inflammation.
Tomorrow I will be writing about something that has been on my mind for a little bit. I have been researching Alkaline water and the detrimental effects of having too much acidity in our bodies. I want to talk about what the deal is with the water ionizers you see selling for $4,000, whether they work and if is better then filtered or bottled water. I also briefly talk about what foods we can eat to help balance out the Alkaline/Acid levels.

One thought on “

  1. I'm the same with the kraut, love that stuff! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wasn't a fan of that drink, a little too strong for me.Yay for being off your meds, that is so awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm so happy for you! Reading about your non worry, worry, reminded me of myself. I always think I'm not worrying, but meanwhile 100 things are going on in my head. Gotta work on that! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

