Green Energy Bar Recipe

2 Comments
Hello Everyone!
Tonight as promised, I am reviewing my next recipe from Thrive Foods Cookbook.
Eggplant Rolatini 
 The filling that was used was made from a mixture of lentils, tahini, miso, fresh herbs, coconut butter, and garlic. This was really good. The dish as a whole? Ehh. I wasn’t too happy with it. It was a lot of work and I was expecting more. I didn’t like the sauce, it was thick, sweet and just not for me. This will not be a keeper. 
The side of broccoli rabe was amazing though! 
Green Energy Bars with Chlorella
 This my friends, is a keeper for sure!
Adapted from: The Idiots Guide to Eating Raw
1/4 c almonds, soaked an hour and drained
1 cup of dates, soaked an hour
1/4 c sunflower seeds, soaked an hour and drained
1/4 c goji berries
1/4 c raw cacao nibs or cacao powder
1/4 c of almond butter or tahini
1/2 c raisins, soaked in 1 c water
1 1/2 tsp of carob powder or cacao powder
2 tsp Chlorella powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
shredded coconut (optional)
 Place almonds and dates in a food processor fitted with an S blade. Process until small chunks. Add to large bowl along with rest of ingredients. Mix well with hands for a few minutes. 
If dehydrating, flatten onto a Teflex sheet about 1/4 inch thick and dehydrate at 110 for 12 to 15 hours. 
Flip halfway through and remove the Teflex.
If not dehydrating, form into 2 inch balls and roll in shredded coconut to cover. Chill for at least 30 minutes. 
These were so yummy! I was so surprised at how good they turned out. I ate a bunch of them directly out of the dehydrator, and the cacao nibs inside were melty and the raisins made these bars chewy and really a delight to eat.  Plus I’m sneaking in chlorella where I can’t even taste it! Score!
 Shake of the week:
Almond Milk
Maqui Berry Powder
one banana
handful of frozen mixed berries
Maca Powder
Chia seeds

I have been craving buffalo sauce. I used to indulge in buffalo wings all the time and didn’t think anything else would satisfy that craving. That is until I tried this little gem of yumminess. mmmmm….buffalo. 
Thats it for now! Thinking up a new informational or inspirational post for next time. Any topics you would like to hear about?
xo

2 thoughts on “Green Energy Bar Recipe

  1. Those bars sound great! And that hummus, I will have to look for that, my hu by would love that! The eggplant looks great, too bad it's not worth the time. I was thinking about trying it out, but I don't have the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

