Happy Fall recipes!

4 Comments
1,000 Vegan Recipes (1,000 Recipes)
So I have to tell you guys about the latest cookbook I’m totally digging right now. 
Yup. 1000 recipes my friends. The soup section is pretty impressive and with the cold season approaching, this is exactly what I’m looking for. Tonight I made my first hearty soup from this book. 


Curried Butternut & Red Lentil Soup with Chard
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and diced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 Tblsp minced fresh ginger
1 Tblsp curry powder
1 (14.5 oz) can of crushed tomatoes
1 cup red lentils, picked over, rinsed, and drained
5 cups of vegetable broth
salt and fresh ground pepper
3 cups of chopped stemmed Swiss or Rainbow Chard
Preheat oven to 350. Peel squash and cut in half. Scoop seeds out and place face down on sheet pan. Cook in oven for ten minutes or so, just to get soft enough to dice. 
In a large soup pot, heat the oil over medium heat. Add onion, squash and garlic. Cover and cook until softened, about ten minutes. Stir in ginger and curry powder, then tomatoes, lentils, broth, and salt and pepper to taste. Bring to boil, then reduce to simmer, uncovered until lentils and vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally, for about 45 minutes. 
About 15 minutes before serving, stir in chard.  
This was so good! I would of never thought to mix these flavors and ingredients. They complimented each other so well. True to the description in the cookbook itself, the complexity of flavors tastes like it took hours to cook but it was very easy and quick! I’ve got a keeper…
Here is one of my own recipes: simple. autumnal. and filling. 
Quinoa & Sweet Potatoes with Sage Brown Butter Sauce
1 cup of cooked Quinoa
1/2 cup of cubed cooked sweet potatoes
handful fresh sage leaves
1/4 cup Earth Balance or any vegan butter
1-2 tsp of agave
Melt butter in pan and add chopped sage leaves and agave nectar and saute for 5 min or until fragrant. Pour over quinoa and diced sweet potatoes and mix well.
Leftovers for lunch next day with added Kale!

Today was a jam filled day of household chores so I had a hearty breakfast to go along with it. 

Sunshine Breakfast Patty on romaine leaves with tahini, kraut and topped with salsa. 

I have been wanting to start a workout routine and today was kick start day!
I followed this DVD I just bought and it totally kicked my butt. I couldn’t even get through more then a 1/4 of it. Its meant to give you fast results (what I like to see!) with free weights, so it was pretty intense. Baby-steps. I know one day I will be able to get through the whole thing in a breeze!

I made a potent protein shake after to fuel the muscles I had just burned. 
Almond Milk
Sunwarrior Protein powder -Vanilla
Maca Powder
Raw multi-vitamin
Bee Pollen
2 tsp of Chlorella powder
For lunch I had leftovers from last nights Kelp Noodle Pad Thai with Broccoli
mmmmm…kelp.

Juice of the week!

5 Carrots 
2 Nectarines
2 apples
1 lemon
inch or two of fresh ginger
Tomorrow is Sunday – you know what that means! It’s relaxin’ day!
Enjoy the rest of your weekend.
xo

4 thoughts on “Happy Fall recipes!

  1. Everything looks so yummy! Love that quinoa recipe! Good luck with the workout, I'll have to check that video out. I need something new! Have a great day relaxin! 🙂

  2. Thank you! I'm having a hard time even climbing the stairs today from those lunges yesterday! Def recommend the video…although, you were able to get through p90x so this video may be easy for you!

  3. I had to come back and comment because I just read your comment and I was laughing because, I did that exact same thing! Right up to eating it with a spoon! Lol! I read your comment to my hubby because he was laughing as I used a spoon to eat it! 😉

  4. no way! haha. I felt kind of mischievous doing it…I shouldn't be enjoying something that tastes so similar to popcorn, covered in butter AND eating it with a spoon. lol. I think I found my new late night snack attack! 😉

Leave a Reply

