Positivity is key to good health and overall well being.

3 Comments
Pinned Image

Today is going to be a positive day. I want you to repeat that to yourself. Today is beautiful. You woke up and are alive and have plenty of opportunities to gain happiness today. If you look all around you and point out all the beautiful things that surround you, then you may just open your eyes a little wider, open your hearts a little bigger and allow yourself to use the positive awareness to better your day. I strongly feel that no matter what disease you are fighting, what bad day you are having, or what grief or loss your are encountering, positive lies within all those things. There is always a bright side to negativity. If you are unaware of that side, then you need to search within yourself a little more. It’s there, you just have to be open to it.

So today’s post is all about positivity. I have a great exercise I want you all to do. First you must watch one of my favorite You-Tube clips.  The innocence and positive attitude this little girl has is something we need to look for within ourselves.

My friend Lauren posted this exercise and I thought it was a brilliant idea to remind yourself of all the great things that you have in your life. Its called the “I like” exercise. Write or say a whole list of things you like that day. If you are in the car driving think to yourself what your likes are or in front of the mirror in the morning while you are getting ready or at night while laying in bed. I think this would be a great tradition to start with children at the dinner table to discuss positive things that happened throughout the day. Once a week I will be doing the “I like” list on my blog. I hope you enjoy reading my likes and maybe it can give you some inspiration to join me in being positive.

Do you have any negative influences in your life? People telling you that you CAN’T? Do you have friends who are not supportive or just don’t bring anything positive to your life? It may be time to get rid of them. It could be a friend, partner, or even a doctor. As in yesterday’s post – it’s the season of letting go. Let all the negative energy drain from your life. Every time it creeps back in remind yourself, that you don’t need it. Not only is it a wasteful thing but its unhealthy and only brings about doubt within yourself. We want to build up that confidence and eliminate any doubts in your mind. Just as Jessica says in the video, you can do anything!

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” ~Steve Jobs

Some people ask how I stay so positive with having Crohn’s. Or you are probably asking yourself, “well what is the positive side to having Crohn’s?” Is there a positive to having any disease? Of course there is! It’s made me to become one tough cookie. I am a stronger person because of it! Another thing I always like to look at is the fact that this disease inflicts my intestines — the one organ we have so much of. Since there is a lot to work with, if more intestine needs to be taken out, so be it! I’ve got plenty! (my goal is not to let that happen of course, but you get the idea) I’d much rather have this then one small organ getting sick, like heart disease. Kind of hard to replace that. P.S. It could be worse!!! I remind myself that everyday.

If everyone threw their problems into a pile and you had to pick one, wouldn’t you pick back your own?


The mind is a wondrous thing ladies and gentlemen. It can take control if you let it. Don’t let emotions such as fear, worry, negative thinking or anger take the reigns. You have no idea how these things can effect your overall health. In Crohn’s we are often triggered with stress or by excessive worrying, which goes to show the interconnection between the digestive tract and the mind.  So keep a healthy balance and try to not let the bad thoughts take over.

Stay positive, do relaxing exercises such as yoga, meditation, positive affirmation or deep breathing to quiet your mind. Take time each and everyday to remind yourself of how beautiful you are, inside and out. 


3 thoughts on “Positivity is key to good health and overall well being.

  1. Hey thereI must say I'm so happy I came across your blog today. I grew up with UC and have been wanting to take control of it and your blog just showed up at the perfect time! = ]I'm a vegetarian so I think I'll really enjoy what you have to say. I can't wait to keep up on your blog!

  2. I like you too Lauren!! So glad I helped to make your day a little brighter :)Kat- I am so thrilled to hear that you are looking forward to following my blog…you have no idea how happy it makes me to hear that 🙂 I have a huge smile on my face! Feel free to ask me anything or suggest things you want me to talk about…any feedback would be greatly appreciated! xo

Leave a Reply

