Breakfast Treats

6 Comments
Breakfast sometimes can be a tough one while being on a raw diet. There’s only enough raw nut granolas or smoothies you can do. I’ve been trying to get creative to mix it up a bit so breakfast doesn’t get boring. 
I typically have a green juice and something raw in the mornings but on the weekends I like to treat myself to warming breakfasts such as oatmeal, hot chai tea or if I want a real special treat –  vegan pancakes. 
This past weekend’s treat was 
Pumpkin Cinnamon Oatmeal
Make oatmeal as you normally would. (I use the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Old-Fashioned Oats) I cook mine on the stovetop in a sauce pan, covering oats with water and bringing to a boil.  Let water cook down and oats get soft. Add a few scoops of canned pumpkin and a good shaking of cinnamon, handful of raisins as its cooking and at the end add milk of your choice. 
Another breakfast I have been enjoying a lot is 
Raw Banana Bread with Rawtella Silk Spread
Now if you haven’t tried the Silk flavor of the Rawtella line, you are missing out! Instead of all Cacao it has coconut butter and vanilla making it a “White Chocolate Spread”. Its so delicious! 
I attempted to make my own Raw Banana Bread. It turned out great but still tweaking things. When I get it down-pat I will post recipe!

For the last two weeks this has been my all time favorite mid-morning breakfast snack. Its kinda like a raw “bagel” with cream cheese. 
I discovered Dr-Cow’s Cream Cashew Cheese.  Its creamy and oh so delicious.
I spread it on raw bread or crackers and top with sliced organic tomato, a pile of fresh sprouts, and sprinkle of Herbamare, fresh cracked pepper and Dulse flakes
One other breakfast item that always revolves in my mix is 
Chia Protein Pudding. 
I doctor it up with a few beneficial additions. 
Overnight I set chia seeds in nut milk, with a tsp of Maca powder, one tsp of Maqui Berry powder and a scoop of Sunwarrior Protein Powder Vanilla  & a dash of cinnamon.  Then in the morning its ready to go – you may add fresh berries or more milk if you’d like! This gives me so much energy in the morning. 
One more recipe before I go. I know, I know, it’s not Breakfast but its too good not to share with you. 
 I was so surprised at how easy it was to make and how darn good it was!
Tempeh with maple, 
mustard, & balsamic glaze

Adapted from 1,000 Vegan Recipes
1 pound of Tempeh, cut into 2″ bars
3 tbls balsamic vinegar
3 tbls pure maple syrup
1 1/2 tbls spicy brown mustard
1 tsp Tabasco or Hot sauce 
(don’t worry this doesn’t make it hot – just balances out sweetness of vinegar)
1 tbls olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup vegetable broth
salt and pepper
1. In a medium saucepan of simmering water, cook the tempeh for 20 minutes. Drain and put aside. 
2. In a small bowl, combine vinegar, maple syrup, mustard, and Tabasco. 
3. In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the tempeh and brown on both sides, turning once, about 4 minutes per side. Add the garlic and saute about 1 minute longer. 
4. Stir in broth and salt and pepper to taste. Increase heat to medium high and cook for about 3-5 minutes or until liquid is nearly evaporated.
5. Add the reserved mustard mixture and cook for another few minutes, turning the tempeh to coat with the sauce and glaze nicely. Be careful not to burn. Serve immediately. 
I served it over lightly steamed kale. It also reheated very well the next day! 
This is my favorite kind of Tempeh – Flax flavor & organic. 

Juice of the Week
Carrots
Apples
Lemons
Ginger
Pears
Lettuce
Celery

Tis’ the season to enjoy the benefits of pears. They help keep the lungs moist in preparation for the Winter! I’ve been adding them to my daily juices all week. 

The Green Lean Bean


Until next time…
xo

6 thoughts on “Breakfast Treats

  1. I get them in the NYC..there are 3 places that sell them – Commodities Natural Market, Live-Live raw store, and High Vibes. The cheapest prices are at Commodities 🙂

  2. It's hard to find tempeh recipes that the rest of my family will like too, but the one above looks delicious. I love the positivity and encouragement everywhere on your blog – very inspiring!

  3. Thank you so much Lauren! I think this Tempeh recipe could very well be a family crowd pleaser. Thanks so much for stopping by and saying hello- it means a lot! xo

Leave a Reply

