Warming Cauliflower Stew with Potatoes & Leeks

3 Comments
I had a lot of leeks and cauliflower on hand so I got creative in the kitchen last night. I wasn’t expecting much because I was kind of adding things as I went along, but surprisingly the end result was worthy of sharing with you!
Warming Cauliflower Stew with Potatoes and Leeks
1 leek, light green and white parts only, sliced
2 potatoes, skin left on, cubed
olive oil
1 head of cauliflower, roughly chopped
1 carton of vegetable broth (4 cups)
salt and ground pepper
Frank’s Red Hot or any hot sauce (yes this makes the soup!)
1 tsp curry powder
juice from half a lemon
soymilk or unsweetened milk of choice
fresh parsley, chopped for garnish
  1. Cut the leeks lengthwise and clean under running water to remove all the dirt. Slice and add to pot with a few swigs of olive oil. Saute for a minute or two.
  2. Add cauliflower and cubed potatoes and saute for a few minutes longer until leeks are soft. 
  3. Add vegetable broth and let simmer on medium-low heat for about 25 minutes or until vegetables are fork-tender. 
  4. Reduce heat to low and ladle 3 scoops of soup in to blender. (Let cool before blending otherwise you will have a hot mess on your hands!) Blend with just enough soymilk to get a smooth and silky consistency. You want it to remain thick and not too watered down. 
  5. Add the pureed mixture back into soup and mix well. Add curry and few drops of hot sauce and juice from half of lemon. Don’t worry, the hot sauce doesn’t make the soup spicy, it just balances out the flavors very well.  Start off with 3 drops and work up from there according to taste. 
  6. Serve with lots of fresh chopped parsley and fresh ground pepper. 
Pureeing some of the soup and adding it back in gives this stew a lovely creamy consistency.  I instantly warmed up all-over after eating a bowl of this. I always seem to be cold, so that kind of effect makes me happy πŸ™‚
Simple and quick dinner idea:
Over the weekend I was craving pizza but didn’t want to go through the trouble of making a crust so I made these instead….
Portabella Pizzettes
Saute mushroom caps in a little olive oil. Once cooked through, add cheese and allow to melt for a few minutes (I use Daiya) and then top with Tomato Sauce. I added blanched broccoli for color and crunch. 
The Cinnamon Snail
Every Sunday I visit my local Farmers Market. The main reason I go is to stock up on cheap kale and fresh tomato sauce and the other reason is to indulge in meals from the best Vegan food truck around! They have a whole line up of sandwiches, breakfast and tons of fresh pastries & donuts. They also serve raw pizza and a few raw desserts!
Words can’t even describe how good Adam’s food is. I need to know his magical secrets! I hear a cookbook is in the works so I am super excited. If I could learn to make one thing it would be this:
Provincial White Wine Grilled Tofu
with white truffled cashew cheese, kalamata olive tapenade, arugula, onions and fried sage leaves 
This was to die for. I sat in my car eating this and inspected every bit of food and thought to myself “how!?” How does one create such unbelievably tasty vegan food, on a food truck nonetheless?
Adam has some talent for sure and I am so lucky to be local to his truck so I can enjoy his creations. 
Maple Mustard Tempeh 
My second favorite!
with roasted garlic aioli, kale, tomato and onion
Gluten-free Peanut Butter Blondie
mmmmmm…..

Raw Rasberry Bar

could eat one of these everyday!
Check out their menu here
They visit Hoboken, Newark, Jersey City and Snail’s home-base is in Red Bank, NJ.
Adam also does custom cakes and catering orders!
Next week they announce their pre-order Thanksgiving menu which I cannot wait to see! This year will be my first holiday doing this diet so I think I’m going to trust in the Snail to help me not miss the regular food!
Almost forgot….
Juice of the Week!
2 apples
4 stalks of kale
1 lemon
2 stalks of celery
5 romaine leaves
1 pear
handful of parsley
Hope everyone is having a wonderful and healthy week! 
Look out this weekend for new recipe posts and some information regarding these little power-packed seeds:
xo


3 thoughts on “Warming Cauliflower Stew with Potatoes & Leeks

  1. I loooooove the Cinnamon Snail! Lucky for me I'm right in the middle of Hoboken and Redbank, so I can visit either in about 30 min! πŸ˜‰ actually, we plan on hitting up the redbank farmers market this Sunday! πŸ™‚ I ate the tempeh sandwich all the time when pregnant! And I love the raw pizza. I have to try the tofu!This soup looks perfect, I have a head of cauliflower in my fridge, I'll have to make it!

Leave a Reply

