Raw Banana Bread Recipe

4 Comments
After a few attempts, 3 to be exact, I think I have finally perfected my raw banana bread! As you all may or may not know, I am totally in love with the raw breads from Rayo De Sol (pictured below) I can’t quite figure out how they get their bread to be such a perfect chewy consistency. Maybe after a few more attempts at my own, I will figure it out. 

Until then I need to share with you this recipe, which in my mind has become the best thing I have made in my dehydrator so far. Yay!
Raw Banana Bread
makes about (24) 2-inch squares
1 cup almond meal
1 cup golden raisins
2/3 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
1 cup carrot pulp
4 bananas, mashed
1 tsp almond extract (you could use vanilla instead)
3 dates
1 tsp water
1 tbls cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp salt
1 tbls agave nectar 
1/3 cup almond butter
Soak dates in water for at least a half hour to soften them up. Drain water and remove pits and place in processor with 1 tsp of water and puree into a thick paste.
Next, chop your walnuts roughly into small pieces. 
If you do not have carrot pulp on hand, make some carrot juice for yourself to get some pulp! Mash your bananas. Now we can start adding all the ingredients to a bowl. 
Mix all together until well combined.

Flatten on a Teflex sheet to about 1/4″ thick.
Dehydrate at 105 for about 14-18 hours or until you are happy with the consistency.  Make sure to flip half way through to “cook” both sides!
cut into squares and enjoy!
I like to spread nut butter or Rawtella on mine for a breakfast snack…mmmm.
Since I am on the subject I would love to share with you some benefits that banana’s can have on the digestive tract. A banana a day instead of an apple a day is a great idea!

– They are very easy to digest. They help in restoring the colon and they can help to promote regularity.

potassium is important for digestive health because it helps to regulate the amount of fluid and electrolytes in the intestinal tract.

-A banana provides 3.1 g of fiber, which is the perfect amount… not too much, not too little for our sensitive intestines.  The fiber bananas provide in the diet help with digestion by absorbing toxins and providing the material necessary in intestinal waste that expands and stimulates peristalsis, the muscle movement that propels elimination.

Water provides the fluid necessary for balancing intestinal waste consistency essential for maintaining healthy bowel regularity. Bananas provide 75 percent of its composition as water, contributing to the daily water intake that combines with food and propels its movement through the digestive tract.

-A banana provides 1.3 g of protein. The protein the banana provides repairs and maintains the digestive tract tissue and slows the digestion of carbohydrates, the body’s primary source of energy. If carbohydrate absorption occurs too quickly, the blood sugar elevates suddenly and metabolism becomes imbalanced. Including a banana in the diet improves the regulation and maintenance of the metabolic system.


-Bananas also help neutralize stomach acids, and are preventative against ulcers.



Hope you all had a wonderful start to the week!
xo

4 thoughts on “Raw Banana Bread Recipe

  1. Hi Lauren!I found you through Ginger Is the New Pink site….I am excited to read through your blog and see your recipes, etc. My hubby has UC and we have helped him by changing his diet although stress is still a factor in his. I am wishing you the best!!!!

  2. I'm so glad to hear that your hubby is feeling better with diet! I too, have issues with keeping my worries and stress at bay…it's not easy! Thank you so much for stopping by and saying hello- it means a lot! I wish you and your husband all the best as well!!! xo

Leave a Reply

