Feel the Beet

1 Comment

Beets have been shown to provide antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification support.  These colorful root vegetables contain powerful nutrient compounds that help protect against heart disease, birth defects and certain cancers, especially colon cancer. Coupled with their status as a very good source of the antioxidants, they contain vitamin C, Manganese,  and Folate (very good for pregnant women). Beets are also blood-building that detoxifies the blood and renews it with minerals and natural sugars due to its iron content.

With all those benefits I should be adding beets to my weekly regimen indefinitely. Well, not so fast. I hate the taste of beets. Despise. They taste like dirt, way too earthy for me. But wait! Something opened my mind to them one day. It was a fresh pressed juice I had bought in the city that consisted of beets,  strawberries, ginger and pineapple. It tasted delicious! Ok beets, you get another chance to become a star vegetable in my kitchen. 
I went to Whole Foods the other day and timidly reached for the bunch of beets. Their ugly face stared at me and although I wanted to put them back immediately, they seemingly made it home with me that night along with a bunch of fresh organic strawberries. I had a bag of Trader Joe’s Frozen Pineapple and a big root of fresh ginger already in the fridge. This is what I came up with. 
Feel The Beet Shake

1 beet, skinned and halved
1/2 cup pineapple
2 tablespoons of agave or honey
5 strawberries
2″ knob of fresh ginger root
 4 oz or more of any juice, water or coconut water
Blend. Enjoy. 

Check out some beet recipes I found….
Look at this lovely recipe for beet chips! Instead of frying, 
I would try to dehydrate them to retain all the nutrients. 
Here’s a recipe for pickled beets from acountryfarmhouse.blogspot.com
Beet Ravioli with Pine Nut “Goat Cheese” Rosemary-Cream Sauce, Aged Balsamic Vinegar 
Lastly, an intriguing beet hummus recipe from simplyrecipes.com
So after reading this post are you feeling the Beet?
One thought on “Feel the Beet

Leave a Reply

