Easy Peasy Hemp Milk

2 Comments

This morning I ran out of my usual almond milk from Trader Joes (only store bought brand I buy because it doesn’t contain Carrageenan and loads of hidden sugar). I was distraught because I was already boiling a pot of fresh oats on the stove and had made my morning tea brewed. I can’t have either without milk! Then the 5lb bag of hemp seeds I just bought were staring at me. 10 minutes later I was enjoying fresh raw vanilla hemp milk in my tea and oatmeal. It couldn’t of been any easier. I think I’m going to surpass buying anymore store bought milk for a little bit considering how easy this was. All you need is a blender, no straining is necessary. This milk is so much healthier for me too! 

Did you know?

One 8-oz. glass of hemp milk contains:

900mg Omega-3 Fatty Acid
2800mg Omega-6 Fatty Acid
All 10 Essential Amino Acids
4 grams of Digestible Protein
46% of RDA of Calcium
0% Cholesterol
Potassium
Phosphorous
Vitamin A, B12, D, E, Riboflavin and Folic Acid
Magnesium
Iron
Zinc

Hemp seeds have a rich, nutty flavor, similar to sunflower seeds. Hemp seed nuts actually contain more high-quality protein (6 grams per tablespoon) than beef or fish! Hemp is also really good for boosting your immune system, helping to build strong bones and even helps grow strong nails, hair and great for your skin, muscles and connective tissues. 


Vanilla Hemp Milk
makes 4 cups or one large mason jar
1 1/2 cups shelled raw hemp seeds
2 1/2 cups filtered water
1/4 tsp raw vanilla powder or 1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tablespoons raw agave nectar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional. I love cinnamon!)

Blend and enjoy. 
Will keep in fridge for up to 3-4 days. 

This milk came out frothy and thick and oh so yummy. When I poured in in my tea, I had a thick foamy top, which I love. You can sweeten with 2-3 pitted dates instead if you would like, or make chocolate hemp milk by adding a tablespoon or two of raw cacao.  I would even think adding some coconut milk to this would be yummy as well!



Want more recipes where you can use hemp seeds?

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Hemp Milk

  1. Yummy! Just so you know, the Whole Foods brand unsweetened almond milk doesn't have careegenan in it either! I buy that for when I don't have fresh.

Leave a Reply

