Good Eats! (and a raw caesar dressing recipe)

4 Comments

I realized I haven’t shown my good eats in awhile so please bear with the full content of food pics. I start with my trip last week to Philadelphia….the first few pics are not the healthiest – beware.

This is just HALF of it! It was huge! It was cheezy and full juicy mushrooms and melt in your mouth seitan. I thoroughly enjoyed it but only could eat half…..but to be honest… I wasn’t too excited to eat bread like I expected to be.  I’m not used to eating like this so I felt really heavy afterwards. 
The slice was awesome too, but again because I was so full from the cheese-steak,  I only ate half. 
I peeled all the onions off too!
Since I started going to Philadelphia for my GI appointments when I was 6 years old, it became tradition to get a Philly cheese-steak after each Dr. Visit. Not the healthiest tradition. So this year was the first year I did not get a real cheese-steak. I found a full Vegan Pizza shop called Blackbird Pizzeria and their slices and cheese-steaks got high ratings compared to the other few vegan contenders. I had a great dr’s appointment and wanted to treat myself but in the end I felt a little guilty eating all this bread!
One Saturday my boyfriend brought me out to breakfast to a new little cafe called Toast in Asbury Park. 
They serve regular food and have a lot of Vegan choices too. It was perfect. My boyfriend got his meat and eggs and I ordered tofu scramble with oven roasted potatoes and a side of vegetarian sausage patties and fresh squeezed OJ. It was divine and so enjoyable to enjoy a breakfast out with my honey. There just aren’t enough Vegan breakfast options out there! 
One night I made a dish of eggplant parmesan using my mother’s famous recipe for my boyfriend and also made a mini tray for myself with a few little changes to make it healthy. I used Daiya cheese for the mozzarella. Came out pretty good for my first try but next time I will use a lot less cheese then I did here – it was too much!
Another night I made brown rice and made a spicy broth of water with vegetable bouillon, tamari, garlic ginger, miso & Sriracha. I added lightly steamed zucchini, broccoli, carrots, and sprouts. 
One of my favorite lunches to get delivered to work is a raw Chef’s sandwich from Quintessence
It is scallion cream cheese, sprouts, olives, cucumbers, avocado, lettuce, and tomato on a raw “bun” with a side salad. 
Another day I ordered a “Buddha Bowl”  
Oh. My. Lord. This was the mother of all salads. It was such a HUGE helping, I continued eating it for 3 days after. It was mixed greens, kale, tomato, sprouts, cucumbers, Fofu cubes (yes, raw tofu made from cashews!! Amazing.) Garlic and scallion wild rice with a big container of raw Caesar Dressing. Oh, and an order of raw bread on the side. Yummy! I also ordered a raw “Vanilla Shake” for dessert. 
And yes once again, another lunch from the same place. Can you tell I love it here?
Similar to the Chef’s Sandwich but with lots of spinach in a savory crepe served with live salsa. 
lots of these guys.
One night I made brown rice. I cooked it in Veggie broth and made it really thick and soupy, almost like a porridge. I added chopped garlic, garlic, miso, sesame oil and tamari as it cooked. Added snap peas, green onions, kale and spinach. Sprinkled with Sesame seeds and dulse flakes. 
One night my boyfriend took me out to a nice restaurant called the Salt Creek Grill in Rumson, NJ. I loved how they had a few gluten free options on the menu. This dish was gluten free & Vegan. Tofu grilled on a mesquite grill atop quinoa, almonds, wine soaked raisins, sliced grapes and kale. I’m typically not a tofu steak kinda girl but this was really smoky and delicious. I love how the sweet grapes and raisins complicated the savory flavors of the dish. 

Last night for dinner I just wanted something really simple. I boiled some veggie broth and added tomato paste, salt and pepper, gluten free ducky shaped pasta and green onions. I’m almost 30 and still love shaped noodles! πŸ™‚ They make me happy. 
This morning I wanted something savory. Very different from my usual “sweet” oatmeal, cereal, or smoothie breakfasts but it hit the spot. Just what I needed to start my busy day. 
Millet with raw kale, tomatoes, peas shoots with creamy miso caesar dressing. 
I basically toasted the millet in a skillet until a nice fragrant smell appears. Be careful not to burn, only needs a few minutes. Keep shaking the pan so that it doesn’t burn. Then I added it to a pan and added enough water to cover the millet. Simmer covered until all liquid is gone and the millet has slightly puffed. (Millet is just like cooking quinoa or rice) I then added salt and pepper, dulse and hemp seeds, raw kale, sliced tomatoes, pea shoots and drizzled olive oil and caesar dressing on top. 
Raw Caesar Dressing
1 cup water
1 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup pine nuts
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons miso
4 med garlic cloves
1 tablespoon chopped oregano
1 teaspoon white pepper
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 large date

Blend on high until smooth. 
I have yummy dessert treats being “baked” right now in the dehydrator. They consist of raw chocolate and peanut butter – one of my favorite combinations. 

I will share if they turn out!

xo






4 thoughts on “Good Eats! (and a raw caesar dressing recipe)

  1. Everything looks sooooo good! I want to try fofu!!!! And I'll have to check out Toast. We sometimes go to The Rutherford Pancake house for breakfast on the weekend (haven't gone in months!). They have tofu scrambles, gf veganpancakes and pizza and lots of other vegan stuff! And Sweet Avenue Bakeshop is right down the street. It's about 20 min from me, so it would be a little trip for you! πŸ™‚

  2. Also wanted to add, there's a place in then city called viva herbal pizza, they have gf vegan pizza and it's delicious!!! Little hole in the wall and Stogo and Liquiteria are nearby! Gotta get to Salt Creek Grille again, when I went over the summer they didn't have that dish!

  3. Your breakfast place sounds AMAZING ! Wish I was closer….Thank you so much for the good info on Viva's!!!!!! Guess what? Its right near my work and they deliver…I'm so excited. How did I not hear about this place? I also love Stogo! Salt Creek is soooo accommodating so they can probably make you a customized dish because I know you can't do tofu πŸ˜‰

  4. Funny thing, I can eat tofu/soy again. Just in small amounts! Sprouted especially works for me and tempeh I never had issues with. I actually had some tofu when I wasn't feeling good (needed some bland protein) and it didn't bother me. Our bodies are so crazy!! Lol!

Leave a Reply

