GF/Vegan Irish Soda Biscuits

1 Comment
Every year on St Patrick’s Day my mother would make corn beef and cabbage with potatoes and carrots and irish soda bread. I never was as big of a fan as my little brother, for she really made it special for him. He would devour platefuls of beef while I gorged on slice after slice of toasted irish soda bread slathered in butter.  I did some research and after a few failures of attempting to create an old favorite as a Gluten-free Vegan version, I finally found the perfect recipe. It was simple too. I thought it was just as good as the original. My boyfriend, the taste-tester – well, he thought it was a little dry but he is so used to eating traditional bread. Irish Soda bread is typically on the dry side anyways! Smear some butter on these babies and you’ve got yourself a little treat. The savory caraway seeds compliment the sweetness of the raisins perfectly. I enjoyed these as a breakfast treat with tea or just alone as a snack. I definitely will not be waiting till next St Patty’s Day to make these again. 
Irish Soda Bread Biscuits
Adapted from lifeasaplate.com
makes 8 small biscuits
Ingredients:
3 cups blanched almond flour (I used my leftover almond pulp from making milk)
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
2/3 c. raisins 
2 tsps. caraway seeds
2 flax eggs (2 tbls flax meal + 6 tbls water)
1/4 c. coconut/almond milk + 1/4 tsp. lemon juice or vinegar
2 tbsp. honey
Directions:
First make the flax eggs in a separate bowl and allow to sit and thicken 
while you prepare the other ingredients.
Next mix the milk with lemon or vinegar and allow that to rest for a few minutes. 
Mix the almond flour, baking soda, baking powder, raisins and 
caraway seeds in a bowl thoroughly ensuring no clumps.
In a separate bowl, whisk the flax eggs, milk/vinegar mixture and honey.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir till combined. 
Mixture will be gooey. Spoon onto parchment paper into biscuit shapes. 
If you want the traditional dents take the edge of a spatula and mark a cross in the tops. 
Dust the top of the biscuits with gluten free flour.  
Bake at 350 for 20 minutes and allow to sit until cooled.
Schmear with butter and enjoy! 
My boyfriend’s mother has Celiac (who is also Irish and loves St Patty’s Day!) so I made these specially for her since she misses eating soda bread so much. Hopefully they satisfied her craving! 
I also made my own spin on Green Eggs and Ham for my boyfriend which he really loved. I layered potato hash, proscuitto, spinach, egg and cheese. It was easy to make this veganized for me! I started by placing frozen potato hash (trader joes brand) in the bottoms of muffin tins with a little salt, pepper and a tiny dab of Earth Balance. I baked these in the oven at 375 until golden brown (about 20 minutes)
then I added spinach and cheeze and put it back in the oven for a few minutes until the spinach was a little wilted. I served it with green onion on top.  A perfect little Irish breakfast for the two of us. 
One thought on “GF/Vegan Irish Soda Biscuits

Leave a Reply

