Sloppy Jose’s, Macaroons and Probiotic Milk!!

1 Comment
I stayed home today intending to rest but I ended up doing things around the house all day. Most of the time I was in the kitchen, which is really a form of relaxation to me. Some people may not understand that concept but cooking, baking or even cleaning the kitchen is something that is such a domesticated rhythm that I enjoy being in. I love more then anything cooking a home cooked meal for my honey.  I have been determined to cook a Vegan meal that surpasses his standards. He is a typical meat and potato eatin’ kinda guy and sometimes our ways of eating are complete opposites.  I always try to keep things gluten free, where he can’t stand the taste of anything GF (except my pancakes!) So I’m on a mission to make dinners we both can enjoy or easy recipes that I can adapt to make a vegan version for myself. This one my friends is one of those meals! 
I revised a recipe for Black Bean Mexicali Sliders from Chef Chloe that I found on her website. I switched up a few things and also would like to switch up the name because I hate to call these sliders. They are so far from being a “meaty” burger or slider consistency. They reminded us of sloppy joe’s. They were soft but had a little bite of texture from the beans and carrots and an awesome flavor profile. The sauces….mmmm…they made these. Don’t omit them! 
Oh and I changed the main ingredient – no black beans. I cannot digest them! Soooo, I used Aduki beans. These are very popular in a macrobiotic diet because they are more easily digestible then any other bean.  
Sloppy Jose’s 
makes 6 mini patties
Bean Patties
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 (15-ounce) can Aduki beans, rinsed and drained
1 small carrot, peeled and finely diced (about ½ cup)
1 cup breadcrumbs
1/2 tablespoon chili powder (I used Chipotle Chili Powder)
1 teaspoon sea salt
½ cup chopped fresh cilantro
¼ cup water
Mango Ketchup
1 mango, peeled and cut
½ cup sun dried tomatoes, whole or sliced
1 garlic clove
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
Homemade guacamole or store-bought
To make the Bean Patties: 
In a large nonstick skillet, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium heat. Add onions and let cook until tender and slightly caramelized, about 20 minutes. Transfer onions to a large bowl. 
Add beans, carrots, breadcrumbs, chili powder, salt, cilantro, and water to the bowl of onions. Use a large spoon or your hands to mash it all together. If the mixture is too dry to hold together, add more water, 1 tablespoon at a time.
Using your hands, form the bean mixture into patties, to match the size of your slider buns. In a nonstick skillet, heat remaining 2 tablespoons oil over medium-high heat, and pan-fry patties about 3 minutes on each side, until lightly browned and crisp. Add more oil to the skillet as needed. Drain patties on paper towels.
To make the mango ketchup: Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.
To assemble the Sloppy Jose’s: Spread mango sauce on one side of bun and guacamole on the other and place bean patty in between. 
And for dessert….which by the way, were honey approved as well….
Cherry Almond Chocolate Macaroons
makes about 15 macaroons
1 cup dried shredded coconut (unsweetened)
1/4 cup almond meal
1/4 cup dried cherries, chopped
1/4 cup agave
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/2 tsp almond extract or vanilla extract
2-3 tablespoons of raw chocolate*
Add coconut, almond meal, dried cherries, coconut oil, agave and extract in a large bowl. Mix with hands or a spoon until mixture starts to hold together. When thoroughly mixed, fold in chocolate.  Use a tablespoon to scoop the mixture out and press into a ball. Place on dehydrator sheets and dehydrate until desired consistency is achieved. 8 – 10 hours.
*I like to keep raw chocolate bars on hand for things like this. I dice up a few chunks and have instant raw chocolate chips for recipes.  You can also use raw cacao nibs as well. 

I enjoyed a probiotic filled milk with my macaroons. 
I made SCD yogurt a few days ago. For those of you unfamiliar with SCD diet, it has been proven to help a lot of people with autism and digestive diseases. It is very strict and there is a lot of meat eating involved so it’s really not a diet for me. Although it’s not vegan, I do respect and highly support the ideas behind this diet. It makes a lot of sense. I used to make this yogurt back in the day and I did find that it helps. I need to bump up my probiotics right now because something has been putting my intestines on the fritz and I think it has something to do with my intestinal flora being off. You only need a little bit each day to gain benefits.  It is filled with TONS of good bacteria- – much more then any commercial yogurt. 
Since I don’t like the consistency of yogurt, I have a hard time eating a bowl of it straight up. Add granola, I’m fine. Mix it with milk – even better.  I take a few tablespoons with a cup of almond milk, sprinkle of cinnamon, teaspoon of agave, vanilla powder and vanilla extract and mix up in the blender. You get a tangy, sweet little probiotic filled glass of milk. Perfect before bedtime on an empty stomach!
xo




One thought on “Sloppy Jose’s, Macaroons and Probiotic Milk!!

  1. I'm making vegan sloppy joes this weekend! Great minds! 😉 those macaroon look amazing!P.s. I usually ask companies for samples, but with Jolly, he sent because I'm always posting his food on my blog and raving! Lol!

Leave a Reply

