Farmer’s Markets and my latest favorites….

1 Comment
Hi there! I promised a post yesterday but the day seemed to slip away from me. Work has been so busy and life’s little extra’s have been catching up with me. Today my boyfriend and I & some friends are going to a festival in rural NJ for the day. I’m excited to get away and have a relaxing day with good people & good music. 

A reader asked if I would post more green juice recipes so you will be seeing me post a little more of them here. Soon I will have a Smoothie//Juice Page with all recipes listed for easy access. Hopefully they will inspire you to juice and make green smoothies more! 


My Favorite Green Juice

The recipe is for one serving:

2 apples

1 lemon
2 celery stalks
1 inch of fresh ginger root
half cucumber
handful baby spinach
2 kale stalk//leaves


I also like to add a little ice to mine before drinking. 
The Regulator
This juice regulates your body in a way where the celery and cucumber act as diuretics, flushing toxins out while hydrating the body at the same time. Celery and cucumber are also known to regulate blood pressure due to its minerals and traces of sodium. This is a cooling and refreshing drink to have when its hot out because it will help regulate your body temperature. 

1 cucumber
2 apples
1 lemon
5 stalks celery
2-3 kale leaves//or leftover stems

I’ve been eating a lot of sushi these days. It’s considered one of my “safe” foods for my tummy. I can never go wrong with a few rolls and some miso soup!
My latest addiction: Mango, Avocado, Cucumber wrapped in soy nori & a Sweet Potato Roll. You can always ask for steamed sweet potato roll instead of them frying in tempura!

Another serious craving I’ve been having is for broccoli. I even make broccoli for breakfast sometimes! Here is a great simple recipe for 
Quick Creamy Cheesy Broccoli
2 tablespoons of hummus
1/2 tablespoon of Nutritional Yeast
1 teaspoon of Coconut Aminos//soy sauce
juice from half a lemon 
touch of salt & pepper

Lightly steam a small head of broccoli. While still warm, mix the rest of the ingredients with the broccoli, adding water by the teaspoon if needed to make it creamier.  

This combo may sound odd, but for someone that’s been craving mustard lately, this hits the spot! 100% rye toast spread with mustard, smashed avocado and caraway kraut on top. 
Have you tried Emmy’s macaroons yet? These Mint Chip ones are really good. 
Every month therawfoodworld.com has ‘At-Cost’ Specials that are too good to miss. 
I always stock up during these times. I’ve been making my own almond milk so I bought 3 bags of truly raw almonds. Broccoli Sprout Powder – broccoli sprouts have tremendous amount of cancer fighting properties in them! Brazil nuts to add to my smoothies – just one nut contains enough of the daily required selenium! Honey dates for desserts and to add into my smoothies for extra sweetness. My favorite purchase of this order – Jem Almond Butter. This stuff will transport you into cinnamon heaven! Its like having the taste of freshly baked cinnamon buns without the fat and all that sugar. You put this stuff on anything and it will turn it into a dreamy dessert! 
I smeared it onto celery and added crumble chlorella tabs. Yummy!
You can make almond butter banana sandwiches….
Roll into raw coconut wraps with bananas…
…or make things fancy with sliced bananas, sprinkles (hemp seeds), chlorella powder and nuts. I’m slightly addicted to this almond butter! 
Another thing I’m absolutely loving right now are Farmer’s Markets.
We are fortunate enough to have a local market every Sunday that is pretty impressive – packed with local just picked off the farm produce, pickles, organic fresh juices, baked goods, flowers/plants and the famous Vegan food truck Cinnamon Snail! Their food is pretty AMAZING. In fact its kinda out of this world amazing. I’m never disappointed with their wonderful choices. 
Ok. Ok. Ok. 
So yes my dears,  this was a CHEAT day for me. 
I couldn’t help it…that inner fat kid inside me was screaming to try their Vegan Coconut Cream filled Twinkies…and the Toasted Coconut Vegan Donut…and the Chipotle Breakfast Burrito – chipotle grilled seitan, scrambled tofu, fresh jalepeno’s, marinated kale, and chipotle mayo. 
nom.nom.nom.
To even things out I got a fresh Green Juice from Yummy Yummy Good Stuff
I got all this good stuff too! 
Union Square, NYC Farmer’s Market
I work only 2 blocks from this famous farmers market that’s held a few times a week. There are so many vendors that I can never get through them all on my lunch break. I typically end of seeing only half. This place is heaven to me – you should see all the beautiful fresh veggies that are on display! I need to invest in one of those portable granny carts on wheels so I can buy more when I’m there. 
purple potatoes! Another latest addiction of mine. 
every type of plant for sale at this stand – herbs, lettuces, flowers…
beautiful displays
cute rustic display of fresh herbs for sale. 
I lugged all this stuff back to work with me. Phew! The kale was the biggest bunch of kale I ever saw. I don’t even know what to do with it all! It was only $2. 
Look at the size of those Cucumbers – 3 for $2!!! 
I bought gold beets and made baked beet chips 
They were really good but next time I will cut them thicker – they burned too easily! 
I made my honey a nice dinner of fresh striped bass that I also picked up from the farmers market. I glazed it in Chickpea Miso and panko breadcrumbs and had a basil corn tomato salad with rice noodles & beet chips on top. 
Two new favorites that I bought at the market as well – Sungold Yellow Cherry Tomatoes (these are super sweet, firm and so fun to eat as a sweet snack!) and blackberries. I’ve never had fresh blackberries. These were amazing and may just be my new favorite berry – they are sweet and sour
 and really juicy!
Last but not least, I figured out what to do with some of that kale – PESTO!
KALE PESTO. Brilliant. 
This is a great idea to sneak in your greens (or sneak them in to your picky kids!)
You can make Vegan by omitting the Parmesan or replacing 
with extra nuts or even sub with nutritional yeast.
Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 
Be back soon with more yummy food ideas!

One thought on “Farmer’s Markets and my latest favorites….

  1. You know I love those Jem butters!! So good!! We are going on my sister's fiancé parents boa tomorrow and hitting up the RB farmers market before! Can't wait! Wish those twinkles were gf!!!! Wish me luck, might be insane to go on a boat with this disease!!

Leave a Reply

