Breaking out of the "sitting cycle"

1 Comment

If you have been following me for a little bit, you probably know I have a love//hate relationship with working out. I am fully aware of my laziness when it comes to exercising. I eat right, I take care of my mind and body, but I never get my heart pumping. It’s sad how many hours a day I spend sitting. I sit in a car for 2 hours to work, only to continue to sit behind a desk all day, then right back in my car for another 2 hours. Sometimes I get right back in front of the computer when I get home, or plop myself on the couch until its time for bed. I’ve been so tired of this cycle, and I finally realized its time to get my butt in gear. Maybe it’s because I’m approaching age 30. (eeks!) Maybe it’s the Blue Moon that has sent me a rush of mysterious energy, perhaps it was this article, written by my friend’s husband that made me get of the couch. Heck, maybe it’s JUST TIME to get up off my tush! 

I pride myself in taking charge of healing my body of disease through food but I am ashamed to admit the degree of inactivity and lack of blood-pumping that takes place within my body. I know how good light exercise can be for my Crohn’s. It can help motility in the intestine, regulate digestion, build a strong immune system…it’s just so good overall! 

There’s probably a million ways to help to keep motivated. This is how I am doing it: Keep reminding myself how GOOD my body/mind feels after a workout. Picture myself with strong & lean muscles, rather then my little poochy stomach. (yes, I’ve got one! All my body fat tends to gravitate there) I’m also trying to get my honey on board to do things TOGETHER. Today we discovered a local nature park with lots of trails to run near our house. It was great to be working out together! Another good thing to do is to set mini-goals. Rather then try to go all hardcore, I at first walked around my block just once. The second day I walked around twice with little SHORT sprints scattered in. I can’t expect to get out there and run a marathon so with a mindset of achieving smaller goals, I think my plan of staying motivated will work. Soon I will be able to run further without being exhausted. Another good tip – leave your sneakers out next to the bed or by the door. I love wearing my sneakers, so when I see them staring at me, I just want to go put them on! I also leave my yoga mat out on the living room floor so I can stretch at any desired moment. 
Buy fun colored sneakers that you like to wear to help stay active!

I hope my plan to stay motivated works. I’m tired of being out of breath from a short flight of steps or steep hill. I want my body to be in optimum shape, I want to look cut, and most of all I want to start adding in some MOVEMENT into my “cycle of sitting around”. I take such good care of everything else…why have I not exercised in my healing journey? I think maybe if I get my body in shape, the food I will eat, and the positive thinking will be even more healing. It’s all about balance. I can’t feed one side of my body and not the other. 
REBUILD & RESTORE!
After each workout it’s very important to rebuild and restore your muscles and cells that were worked during exercise. After any workout I do, I always supplement with L-Glutamine. It should be taken within 15 minutes after a workout to help restore the muscles, prevent muscle soreness and rebalance & re-energize the cells. Its always good to take it with something
 “sugary” (good sugar such as fruit, carrot

 juice, coconut water…etc.) because it helps deliver to cells faster. I drink a mix of coconut water, aloe, and phytoplankton drops. L-Glutamine is also so good for your intestines!!! 

Here’s a list of Glutamine Benefits:


♥ Glutamine has been linked to protein synthesis. It prevents your muscle from being catabolized (eaten up) in order to provide Glutamine for other cells in the body.
♥ Glutamine helps maintain cell volume and hydration, speeding up wound and burn healing and recovery.
♥ Glutamine benefits you by replenishing declining Glutamine levels during intense workouts.
♥ Research has shown Glutamine can help you produce growth hormone levels. A study have shown 2 grams of L-Glutamine increased growth hormones by over 400%.
♥ Glutamine may serve to boost your immune system. For bodybuilders, this is important since heavy workouts tend to greatly deplete Glutamine levels. (Glutamine is a primary energy source for your immune system.)
♥ Glutamine is one of the most important nutrients for your intestines. It has the ability to ‘repair a leaky gut’ by maintaining the structural integrity of the bowels.
♥ Bet you didn’t know this: It can even cure ulcers! Studies have found that 1.6 grams of Glutamine a day had a 92% cure rate in 4 weeks.


My recovery drink: coconut water & phytoplankton drops.

No-Bake Oatmeal Energy Balls
This is a great quick and easy recipe for a before//after workout snack! Filled with flax meal (omega-3 fatty acids)chia seeds (fiber & natural energy) goji berries (antioxidants & immune boosters) cacao chips (helps oxygenate the blood, releases endorphins and help improve circulation, regular heartbeat and blood pressure) & shredded coconut (good fat).

Ingredients:

1 cup (dry) old fashioned oats
2/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup nut butter
1/2 cup ground flaxseed or wheat germ
1/3 cup honey
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tablespoon of raw coconut oil

*Add-in’s
2 tablespoons raw cacao chips
2 tablespoons goji berries
1 tablespoon chia seeds

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Form into balls and refrigerate. The coconut oil along with refrigerating keeps the balls formed quite well. Keep in a closed container in the fridge for up to a week. 

*You can add-in anything you like. If still too dry to roll into balls, add more wet ingredients (nut butter, honey or coconut oil) For a super-duper energy ball, add in spinach powder, green powder, spurilina, or sunflower seeds…the possibilities are endless!

(This recipe made about 15 one-inch size balls)


Of course, the goji berry addict in the background is begging for one.


One thought on “Breaking out of the "sitting cycle"

  1. I'm def one of those weirdos who loves exercise. Lol! I have a hard time not doing it when I'm sick. Thanks for mentioning thomas's article! I tend to gain weight in my tummy too, I wonder if it's our bodies putting fat there for protection! Lol! Seems our stomachs suck in every way! Good luck with the workouts!!!! Those balls look yummy!

Leave a Reply

