Good Eats + Creamy Golden Mushroom Soup Recipe & an Awesome Green smoothie recipe!

1 Comment
I haven’t posted good eats in awhile. Let’s start with that mushroom soup I was raving about a few weeks ago. I promised you the recipe, so here it is! This was so rich and flavorful – I highly recommend making this if you are a mushroom fan 🙂 If you want a nice gravy, just use this recipe and cut down on the liquids and puree’ until smooth. Keep in freezer when you need a nice rich vegan gravy – better yet, freeze in ice cube tray so you have individual servings at your disposal! 

Creamy Golden Mushroom Soup
makes 4-8 servings 
adapted from this recipe.

1/2 small onion, diced
1 shallot, minced
8 oz. baby portobella mushrooms, sliced thick
12 oz. white button mushrooms, sliced thick
1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
2 tsp. dried dill
2 tsp. salt-free lemon pepper
1 1/2 tsp. paprika
1/4 cup flour (I used GF flour)
2 cups broth
3 cups unsweetened plain almond milk



1. Saute, or caramelize the onions in a little oil until they’re cooked enough to eat – it brings out the flavor. Do this in the pot you plan on using for the finished soup product, since this is a one pot kinda soup.

2. Add in all of the mushroom slices – this will be quite a quantity, and that’s alright. Cook them down for a few to several minutes; as they’re cooking down add the tamari, dill, lemon pepper, and paprika.

3. Once the mushrooms are quite cooked down and have released a substantial amount of liquid – yes, they will – stir in your flour. Do this quickly. It will form a sort of chunky mushroom paste.

4. Add in the first cup of stock immediately once you get your paste at an even consistency. Bring the mixture up to a simmer.


5. Add in the second cup of stock, and bring to a simmer once more. Follow the same procedure with the almond milk, adding one cup at a time. Be careful always to only bring to a simmer, never to a boil. If the soup boils, it will “break” – the flour will separate from the oil it has bonded to, and each will float at the surface of your soup in weird little bubble pods instead of infusing it and making it creamy.

6. Once all five cups of liquid have been added, let the pot simmer (simmer not boil!) for ten to fifteen minutes.

7. Turn off heat; let sit five to ten minutes before serving. I served over fresh steamed millet, raw kale and added diced scallions on top! 



One day for lunch I enjoyed a salad from a local organic cafe made from radicchio, kale, red cabbage, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, figs, apples, & pears. It came with a maple vinaigrette that paired perfectly with this Fall-like combo!

My favorite healthy soup to get is Butternut Squash from Quintessence, a raw restaurant near my work. They serve it warm with fresh parsley sprinkled on top. Its simple and so bright in color, just how I like it. 
Speaking of Quintessence, I have been getting their chef’s club sandwich for lunch lately. I crave it all the time! It has scallion cream cheese, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, sprouts, caramelized onions, pickles, lettuce & avocado…mmmm!
Please excuse my excitement, but this was SOOO FREAKIN’ GOOD. I ate it in 5 minutes flat I think, and I never eat a lot of raw dessert in one sitting. It’s by Rockin Raw, a raw restaurant in NYC. They make kick-ass cakes/desserts. This was Pumpkin Spice Cake with Vanilla Frosting. Ohhh, I want more! 
Speaking of desserts, I picked up this golden white chocolate bar to nibble on when the sweet tooth hits. Its really good!
I also wanted to try something new at the raw store, so of course, these “fall-like” apple apple sticks caught my eye. (As you can tell, I’m into Fall flavors right now!) They are super-crunchy. Not sure if I would buy them again, for they are not too apple-y tasting. 
I have found some great stovetop “scent-recipes” on Pinterest so I tried it out for the first time last week. Made my house smell great – Here, I tried orange slices, vanilla extract, cinnamon sticks, and sage leaves. I also heard that lemon slices and rosemary smell really great together! 
I treated myself to little tart pans and a heart cookie cutter for raw desserts 🙂 I get so happy about anything “mini” Can’t wait to put these to use!
I also bought some mini mason jars for myself. These are perfect to take to work. I made a batch of raw coconut yogurt and topped with dehydrated raspberries and hemp seeds. Delicious as a morning snack!
Sometimes we all have cravings that we can’t resist. For the last few weeks mine has been PB&J. I don’t know why, but I have had a hankering for one everyday. I found a GREAT Gluten free bread that I absolutely love. Its waaaay better then Udi’s. It’s by Three Bakers. Unfortunately its NOT Vegan because it has eggs in it, but it doesn’t hurt my tummy, so I still eat it. For all you local readers, I buy it at Deans Natural Food Market in the frozen section 🙂
I’ve been trying to drink a green juice everyday. Either I will make it at home or buy a bottle in the city near work. My honey has been requesting these over green smoothies, so I try to make them in the mornings for the both of us. It gives us great natural energy to get our day going.  
Take note on this combo: this was one of the best green juices I’ve ever had! 
I need to try to re-create at home. 

Vanilla Chai 
Green Smoothie
Lastly I want to share with you a DELICIOUS green smoothie recipe. I was wowed by the taste of this and I think you will too! Its super simple if you have a good flavored protein powder like Vega One Chai flavor, which I highly recommend. Plain vanilla flavor protein powder would work great too. Just add a dash of cinnamon!

One big can of coconut water (8-11oz)
3 kale leaves//stems
3 frozen bananas
one packet of Vanilla Chai Vega One

Blend and enjoy!






One thought on “Good Eats + Creamy Golden Mushroom Soup Recipe & an Awesome Green smoothie recipe!

Leave a Reply

