My Vegan Thanksgiving Menu

1 Comment
As tradition, I am going to my parent’s for Thanksgiving. Usually its a small gathering but this year we have extended the invitation to our cousins.  I am excited to have a larger then usual crowd. I’m also particularly excited to see my brother, who I don’t often get to see since he moved down to VA. It will be good to have him home for a long weekend. 

Ok, let’s talk food. My mom surely puts out a huge decadent spread of food. Its a meal that shouldn’t be missed! Well, except for me. I have one Aunt who is vegetarian, otherwise I am the only Vegan who will be eating separately from the rest. It’s ok though! My meal plan is just as exciting! I think I will be the only one with energy at the end of the meal too 😉
My main dish will be this delicious meatless loaf. It got many rave reviews saying it tasted a lot like “stuffing” in a loaf form. Its filled with healthy things such as sweet potatoes, beans, tofu, quinoa flakes….

(I am serving it with homemade Vegan Rosemary gravy that I am buying from a local Vegan restaurant called From Seed to Sprout.)

If I were to make my own gravy this is what I would be making: 

A great alternative to potatoes. 
Cauliflower is an excellent source of vitamin C, manganese and antioxidants.

You can even add some crisp apple slices to this if you’d like.

Cranberry Goji Compote

1 1/2 cups fresh cranberries
1/2 cup mandarin orange juice (or juice of regular oranges)
5 drops stevia
1 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1-2 drops orange essential oil
1 1/2 tablespoons chia seed
2 tablespoons goji berries

Blend all but the chia and gojis, in a food processor or blender, leaving a little texture, if desired.
Pulse in the chia seed just to mix it in, but avoid breaking it down.
Transfer the mixture to a bowl and fold in the goji berries.
Chill in the fridge for a few hours. The chia will soak up some of the liquid, causing the compote to thicken.

To help my mom, I have to make one “regular” dish. I was assigned the green bean casserole but I am not making the cream-soup filled dish that usually appears on the Thanksgiving table. Here the creaminess comes from pureed parsnips! I’m hoping it passes the test from my family of picky eaters! 

I had a very hard time choosing a dessert for myself. I chose this one because of its simplicity and ease to make. Since I will most likely be the one enjoying raw dessert, I will half the recipe. Instead of yogurt, I will make a cashew lime cream. 


What are you having for Thanksgiving? 




One thought on “My Vegan Thanksgiving Menu

  1. Yummy!! I want to be at your thanksgiving! Lucky for me, we are going to my mil's house and she is vegan. Lots of options! I am bringing raw cranberry relish and a vegan gf pumpkin pie from papa ganache! Can't wait!

Leave a Reply

