New Year, New Beginnings!

1 Comment

Hey everyone! I’m still here. 

Took a bloggy hiatus for a month due to the holidays. The holidays tend to be pretty hectic, right? For me it was non-stop family house visits, gatherings, crafting up gifts and baking loads of granola for presents. I was also getting some work done on the house, and trying to catch up with organizing things. I hope I haven’t lost some fans – please comment to let me know you are still interested in my blog posts! 
Don’t forget, Im always active on Facebook. Follow me there too 🙂

So I know this is the time of year everyone sets out to be a superhero. I don’t have a long list of resolutions, just a path I plan to layout with each coming day.  To me, I am simply on a journey to gain more health and be the best person I can be. To gain back a more comfortable life where belly aches, headaches and lack of energy rarely exist. 

Here is an update of what I have been 
doing lately to feel good:

Rebounding in the a.m. on my Bellicon
(if Bowie didn’t beat me to it)


Trying to stretch more to gain strength in my back/core. 
May favorite stretch lately to help my achy back is the Cat/Cow!!!

Laying/sitting on my Spoonk mat. 
My back pain has returned because I haven’t been going to the chiropractor on a regular basis. One of my resolutions is to make going a priority! My spine tends to fall out of place a lot, so a little intervention does me wonders.  

Drinking elderberry syrup to steer colds away & to boost my immune system
Juicing as much as I can. Have you ever juiced a sweet potato? Its my new favorite thing to add to my carrot, apple, lemon juice!!!

Drinking fresh matcha green tea with manuka honey

Drinking a strong healing tonic made up of turmeric, lemon, manuka honey, and apple cider vinegar

Eating more salads, with raw kraut on top. 

Using my new mini-processor to make my own fresh, raw dressings. My new favorite is one inspired by Dara Dubinet. Avocado, zucchini, lemon, lime, hemp seeds & spirulina. You can add orange instead of lemon or lime for a sweeter dressing too! 


Drinking (1) kombucha everyday. My new favorite is Reed’s Culture Club – Hibiscus Ginger flavor!!! 
I am very curious to try a grain-free diet soon. I’m not ready to start yet, but my friend Lauren is giving it a go to see if it helps her Crohn’s. I’ve read it can really help heal the intestinal wall. It can take time, maybe a few months for it to start having benefits so I am not ready to take the plunge yet.  I know for sure that oats, buckwheat, beans, lentils and chickpeas are not my tummy’s friend, but things like quinoa and rice who (I think) don’t bother me are grains I am not ready to give up just yet. I will start by reducing them and maybe moving on to complete elimination.

Hope you are all well and enjoying the beginnings of 2013!!!


One thought on “New Year, New Beginnings!

Leave a Reply

