Post 2 of “My Favorites Series”: Supplements and Vitamins

Leave a comment

supplements c

A: George’s Aloe water The best tasting aloe water on the market – it literally tastes like water! Aloe water can help heal your digestive tract, sooth your acid reflux and help clear skin problems. I put 2 oz. in my smoothies each morning & swig another 2 oz at night before bed!

B: Thorne Vitamin D/K2 drops Vitamin D is common to lack, not just in people with compromised immune systems. Unless you spend lots of time outdoors soaking up the sun throughout the year, then you most likely could use some Vitamin D. Vitamin K & D mixed together go hand in hand for bone support, immunity and a healthy cardiovascular system. It is also great for restoring enamel & health to your teeth – something I always need! Two drops goes into my smoothies each morning. The taste is undetectable and because it is liquid, it is immediately absorbed.

C: Dr. Furhman’s Gental Pre-Natal Vitamin Its always a good idea to take a basic multi-vitamin. I really love Garden of Life brand for my multi’s but recently I tried Dr. Furhman’s and really loved how it made me feel. I love his philosophy and trust what’s inside of his supplements. The reason I take a pre-natal is because it contains a lot of things that Crohn’s patients often lack. (Vitamin D, Iron, B-12, Minerals) What I also love is that it does not contain synthetic folic acid, which according to Dr. Furhman and many studies, show to be more harmful then good. Instead he suggests getting folate from living foods – Folate is abundant in green vegetables like spinach, collards, bok choy, artichokes, and broccoli. More than adequate folate levels can be easily and safely achieved by including these foods in a healthy diet.

D: Jarrow Formula Glutamine This can help protect the mucosa lining of the intestine. It works as a fuel for the cells lining the intestine and promotes a healthy digestive tract. Taking a glutamine supplement may help the intestinal walls repair more rapidly, which in turn leads to better nutritional absorption. Read more about it in my blog post here.

E: Garden of Life Raw Iron  Although I take a multi with Iron in it, I still feel the need to get an extra source in. I take this when my energy is low or my skin is extra pale or my under eye circles are dark (all signs of low iron) or when I know I’m am not getting enough into my diet through food.  I will take one pill of this a few times a week if needed, but not everyday.  Garden of Life if a wonderful brand and the raw iron they make is high potent, Vegan and filled with live enzymes and probiotics. A bonus is that it does not make me nauseous like most iron supplements out there!

F: Floradix Iron + Herbs I have not tried this brand but it is on my list to try next after I run out of the Garden of Life. I read and hear so many rave reviews of this stuff that I must recommend to you! Supposively this stuff really works wonders by bringing immediate natural energy and raising iron levels to a successful level. Because it is natural and gentle on the system, it also doesn’t cause nausea. This product has been around for ages, so there must be something to it!

G: Green Pasture’s Blue Ice Fermented Cod Liver Oil This is considered a sacred food, recommended by Weston Price. I just recently started these and I can already tell a difference from taking them! Can’t describe it, but just feel overall better. Omega’s are so good for Crohn’s so I wanted to buy the best source I could find. These are it! The practice of fermenting cod liver has been a great historical practice amongst many cultures used to ensure strong mind, body & spirit. There is always something about a nurturing practice like this that has been used for so years that makes me trust its success.

H: Boswellia This is my natural version of an anti-inflammatory. I take this along with turmeric to fight off any flares. Boswellia is an ayurvedic herb that has been used to treat many inflammatory conditions. Also called Indian frankincense, boswellia is actually an extract that is made from the gum resin found in the stem bark of the boswellia tree. Boswellia has been studied for use in Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, and collagenous colitis and in these studies, boswellia has been shown to be effective.

I: Life Extension Super Bio-Curcumin I swear by the magical powers of this stuff! This specific brand was recommended to me by a top NYU Dr. and it does not disappoint. I think this is one supplement everyone should be taking! I use it as my main anti-inflammatory. The pill I take to avoid flares and the pill I use to help prevent more skin cancer.  In studies its been shown to reduce intestinal inflammation & decrease congestion in the mucus membranes of the digestive tract. In skin cancer it is shown to help melanoma cells commit suicide. Here is a slew of other reasons you should be taking this. If I haven’t convinced you enough thus far, let me tell you that studies using Turmeric have been going under way at many universities and hospitals and the results are coming in at high marks. Even my Gastro says that studies using Turmeric for Crohn’s and IBD have been proving that it is just as powerful as prescription anti-inflammatories.

J: MRM Digestive Enzyme I get asked a lot why it is essential to take enzymes. Starches, protein, fiber and dairy are often hard for the body to break down, especially if they are being combined (like in most SAD diets). Enzymes not only help break down food but they also help nutrient absorption. By achieving optimal digestion through taking enzymes before meals, you can alleviate, gas, bloating, constipation and diarrhea and even acid reflux. Of you tend to get any of these symptoms, give an enzyme a try!

K: Dr. Ohhira’s Probiotics        L: Garden of Life Primal Defense          M: New Chapter GI Tract Probiotics

Probiotics are essential to everyone & anyone who has digestive issues or compromised immune systems. They not only help build good bacteria in your digestive tract, but those good bacteria act like an army against foreign bugs that may visit in the form of colds, viruses, joint pains or yeast overgrowth. Finding a good strain may take some time, for there are all different brands that carry different ingredients, different armies of bacteria, and vary in numbers of live cultures. A high strain count does not necessarily mean it will be the best for your situation. I’ve tried probiotics with billions of different good bacteria in it that did nothing but on the other hand has helped others tremendously. My point is that it all varies upon what makes YOUR system happy so I am suggesting a few brands that I have tried with much success. Some others that are very reputable that you may want to try are VSL3, Renew Life Ultimate Flora or Mega Foods Mega Flora When starting a new probiotic, you may experience bloating & gas or digestive upset more then usual but these are signs that they are working. When bad bacteria die off, they release gas, which must exit somehow and unfortunately that is through you! Once you get past this short stage it should be clear sailing to a healthier gut environment. Happy Gut=Happy Body 🙂

Getting back to normal after Sandy

With all the supplements I take, it is super easy to become disorganized and forget to take them. That is when something like this handy-dandy organizer saves me!

71SBV4f-TjL._SL1500_

Click to see where I bought 🙂

I’ll be back soon with Post 3 of my Fav’s: Beauty Items – I peek inside my bathroom cabinet & what I keep in my purse at all times!

Good Eats

Leave a Reply

