Foodie Friday

1 Comment

A little update on where my diet is.

Its been a roller-coaster of cheating, getting back on track, being reluctant/stubborn and having ah-ha moments. I’ve had to put on my detective hat many times these last few months to try and figure out why my digestion wasn’t optimal. No pain and no flaring, thank goodness, but things just weren’t going smoothly in the digestive department. I find the answer always lies within my food choices.  I started introducing some gluten into my life again a few months ago, along with more dairy ….soon that became a binge fest of bad eating and came with it were some digestive issues. So I got my act together and lost the gluten, lost the dairy. Well for the most part. I will admit I like to still sprinkle pecorino romano on my pastas and salads (Just a little!) Other then that I’ve been a good girl. I was feeling wonderful up until I started sneaking in more soy. Now as you may or may not know, I’m not an advocate of soy. It not only disrupts hormones & digestion but nowadays most soy is GMO which is no good!  I think I started introducing soy to use as a crutch. I leaned towards alternatives to replace what I was missing from the dairy world. I began with tofu cream cheese, then I bought soy cheese, then I started eating Korean food like mad which is loaded with soy and sodium. Low and behold I also discovered my new probiotic’s main ingredient was fermented soy. Here is when I had an ah-ha moment! So I cut all those things out and almost immediately felt better. Corn is another criminal I am investigating. I have been eating a lot of organic corn pasta these days so I want to eliminate that soon to see if its a culprit as well.

So what does that leave me with? Well, a diet rich in fruits and veggies. I know for a fact that that’s what my body loves the most. Its just sometimes hard to stick to. My sensitive intestines sometimes do not like all the roughage either. All I can do is try the best I can to figure out what my body needs. It’s always a roller-coaster ride. Healing yourself is never easy and there are never straight answers.

So now that we have caught up, let’s move on to Foodie Friday! Check out what I’ve been eating…

photo 4One of my all time favorite Green Smoothies

Tropical Detox:

Coconut water (10 oz.)
Juice from 2 oranges
1 cup Fresh pineapple
Handful fresh cilantro
Tsp chia seeds
1/8 tsp vanilla bean powder
Handful of baby spinach
2 kale stalks
1″ ginger root (skin removed)
2 frozen bananas

Getting back to normal after Sandy

photo 1I’ve been loving fresh berries! In fact, one day I ate this big bowl for my lunch. Honey drizzled on top, along with shavings of coconut butter, vanilla bean powder and fresh apple mint.

photo 2I’ve been having very strong cravings for citrus, especially orange juice. I actually drank almost a gallon in one day. Eeks. I feel the craving is dying down a bit but I still am drinking at least 2-3 glasses of orange juice daily. Perhaps my body is craving Vitamin C?

photo 1Organic Avenue has by far the BEST fresh orange juice. If I could I would buy and drink 3 a day. They are pricey so I treat myself about once or twice a week to one bottle.

photo 2The weather is finally warming up so we broke out the kebobs for grill-time. I love me a good veggie kebob!

photo 3After grilling, I put them all in a bowl and sprinkled fresh basil, homemade GF garlic breadcrumbs and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

photo 1photo 3 I have been juicing a lot each morning for the both of us. We love a good strong green juice! It floods our body with nutrients and really provides clean energy that no cup of coffee could ever give! 

photo 2I am starting to experiment with tea based smoothies. Not only can they add extra medicinal nutrients but they taste great too! Coconut water can be quite expensive to keep making my smoothies with so one night a brewed a big batch of strawberry hibiscus tea and used that as my smoothie base. I added peaches, cherries, raspberries, bananas, oranges…it was amazing!

photo 4I signed up for a Farm share through work where we receive fresh organic produce every other Tuesday from a certified organic farm located in Massachusetts. This was my first share!!! I felt like a kid on Christmas – I was super excited to get my fresh bags of veggies. Fresh picked produce smells heavenly to me! I’ve never eaten so many vegetables like I have in the last few days. It really is a strong motivator to plan your meals around the vegetables received in each share.

photo 5I’ve made this delicious salad about 4 times now. Lettuce, arugula, radish, tomatoes, raw olives, GF garlic bread-crumbs with red wine vinegar, lemon & oil.

photo 3I made his and hers salad jars one day for lunch. These were AMAZING. Lettuce, arugula, artichoke hearts, broccoli, radish, raw olives, cherry tomatoes, sun dried tomatoes, green onions, sprouts, red peppers, red wine vinegar, olive oil and a sprinkle of organic parmesan cheese.

photo 4I made GF pizza using Sami’s Bakery Millet & Flax crust. AMAZING! Being from NJ, I’m more of a thin-crust girl, but this thick crust was pretty darn good. It even surpassed my honey’s taste buds, and that’s saying something! You can order their products online and get them shipped pretty quickly to your doorstep. (Their Millet & flax bread which is outstanding too and the only GF bread I will ever eat!) I smeared Basil Cashew Ricotta on top with San Marzano Pizza Sauce, broccoli and finished it off with fresh arugula. It was so divine!

photo 3This was the Basil Cashew Ricotta I used. (Found it in New York City) It was pretty good for convenience but to be honest, I think homemade tastes better!

photo 5Another Italian meal that is high-raw and very filling. I spiralized zucchini noodles and added hot tomato sauce with capers and olives along with steamed broccoli. Didn’t miss the pasta one bit!

photo 1I had to try this new Vegan Vodka sauce by Victoria Vegan. It has soy in it, so I will not be having it again anytime soon, but I have to share how delicious it was. If you are ok with soy, I highly recommend this. I’ve seen this brand in most stores recently- Shop-rite & Wegman’s and most health food stores! There is a cashew based alfredo sauce too, as well as white bean marinara and a few other flavors.

photo 5My rose bush is on steroids. I had to cut it back drastically last season but it still seemed to grow even bigger! After I took this picture the roses bloomed twice fold. Needless to say I have been making lots of rose bouquets for the house!

photo 1

Good EatsHave a beautiful weekend!!! 

One thought on “Foodie Friday

  1. I have been looking for that Victoria Sauce! Sad to hear it has soy in it! Boo! Yummy eats! And same here on the roses. Must be the weird weather we’ve been having? Have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

