“What I’m Loving” Wednesday!

1 Comment

photo 2I am absolutely loving veggies so much lately. It’s all I’ve been craving! This is my farm share that I received last week. It didn’t last too long with my appetite!
photo 1 I am loving rainbow salads – full of color, vibrancy and nutrition! Making salads look pretty and choosing bright ingredients make them more fun to eat. I like having separate orderly piles of my goodies…I know its odd, but for whatever reason, it tastes better to me this way.

photo 1

Here is a salad that I’m loving so much:

Spinach and Strawberry Salad with Honey Dressing

adapted from HERE

Salad

1/2 avocado, cubed

8 large strawberries, washed, hulled and sliced

2 T. sliced almonds

1/4 tsp coconut oil (for toasting almonds)

sprinkle of cinnamon

sprinkle of coconut sugar

2 tablespoons of sunflower seeds (preferably raw)

Dressing
juice of 1/2 lemon (about 2 T.)
1 T. extra virgin olive oil
1/4 t. Dijon mustard
1/4 t. honey
1/8 t. salt
1/8 t. freshly ground black pepper

Add a 1/4 tsp of coconut oil to saute pan. Slowly toast almond slivers, tossing often to prevent burning. Just as they start to toast (you will start to smell their toasted fragrance) sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar and remove from heat. Assemble the salad ingredients up to the strawberries. Mix the dressing ingredients in a small bowl. Pour the dressing over top then sprinkle with the almonds and sunflower seeds.

This makes two smaller salads or one large salad.photo 2My advise: make a giant batch of these almonds – they are addicting and really great to have on salads!

photo 3I am totally in love with this food truck I discovered near my Grandparents in Cape Cod. I visit them often and there are typically no vegan options anywhere near so I was ecstatic to find this cool place. Everything is made with love from local & fresh ingredients, mostly organic.

photo 1I ordered this spicy asian greens salad with a citrus dressing. WOW – I was blown away at the simplicity and freshness of this salad. I scarfed it down! They make different pickles everyday – how awesome, right? That day they happened to be carrot and string bean. So delicious! I can’t wait to go back for more!

photo 5Speaking of Cape Cod, when I was away I ate yogurt bowls each morning. I topped them with fresh blueberries and a muesli I made myself (coconut shreds, raisins, cinnamon almonds, chia seeds and vanilla powder) photo 2These were the yogurts I used.

photo 4

Neither have Carageenan in them!

photo 4I sprinkled these on my yogurt bowls too and lately I’ve been sprinkling on my morning smoothies. YUM!!! I bought them HERE. They are loaded with superfoods and are delicious!
photo 3I am loving topping my smoothies off with extra goodies!!!

photo 1I can’t get enough chips and salsa lately! These are my favorite non-GMO corn chips. Thin, airy, not too salty. I made two big jars of homemade salsa using fresh tomatoes, jalepeno’s, onion, hot sauce and lime juice. Throw everything together in the food processor and viola!

photo 5Check out my new snack! Raspberries filled with little chunks of raw chocolate I broke off from a chocolate bar. Great for when your craving a sweet treat and a great dessert or afternoon snack for your little ones!

photo 5Lastly, I am loving watching my watermelons grow! They are growing up so fast!

heartStay tuned – I am writing a post on tips to transition into a raw/vegan diet while having Crohn’s (or for anyone!)

One thought on ““What I’m Loving” Wednesday!

  1. That Greek coconut milk yogurt is the one I give Audriana. She loves it and I love that it has lots of vitamins in it! 😉

    Those are T’s favorite chips! He can eat a whole bag in one sitting! Haha!

    Gotta check out that granola. Yum

Leave a Reply

