Vegan Mac & Cheezy Sauce

2 Comments
Vegan Mac & Cheezy Sauce
~dairy free, gluten free, salt-free, oil free~
This was pretty darn amazing for whipping it together on a whim. I never liked the end result of just cashew cheeze sauce over pasta so I thought it would be great to mix cauliflower puree into it, to thicken it up a bit and get in more nutritional content while I was at it. There’s so many things you can do with this recipe to spice it up. Use it as a base and make it your own!
photo 5[2]
CAULIFLOWER PUREE:
One small head of cauliflower (or approximately 2 cups)
1/4 cup vegetable broth
crank of pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
CASHEW CHEEZE
2 cups of soaked cashews (raw cashews soaked for 8 hours)
2 Tablespoon of lemon juice
2 tablespoons of coconut vinegar
A good crank of black pepper
1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast
1 tablespoon of miso (I used South River Hearty Brown Rice Miso)
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
1/4 cup coconut water
*optional – your favorite herbs-
I used:
2 sprigs of Rosemary
20 basil leaves
One box of your favorite pasta (or zoodles)
DIRECTIONS:
1.Start by steaming your cauliflower until fork tender.
2. Pulse or blend the steamed cauliflower with the garlic, pepper, and broth. You can add more broth if needed to get the consistency of mashed potatoes.
3. Next, blend (I used a Vitamix to get a creamy, smooth texture) all the Cashew Cheeze ingredients. Again, you can add more coconut water to get the creamy consistency you need. Season to taste.
4. Add in the pureed cauliflower into the cashew cheese and blend until incorporated.
ASSEMBLE:
Cook pasta according to the box. In a pot on medium heat, add cashew cheeze and hot pasta. It tends to thicken up easily, so you can add more vegetable broth or water to thin it out a bit. Stir until warm and serve hot!
photo 4[1]
NOTES: You can add salt if you like. (I am avoiding salt so thats why I omitted it) You could make a Cajun flavored sauce by using Cajun spice instead of fresh herbs or Mexican by adding cumin and hot pepper. Go italian and add tomatoes and broccoli. The options are endless! This recipe made just about 3 cups of sauce so you will definitely have some leftover for more pasta or a casserole. Or this can easily be halved!
2 thoughts on “Vegan Mac & Cheezy Sauce

  1. I ate such a small amount of this. It was actually to heavy for me because I am eating so clean but a lot of people were requesting the recipe after I posted a picture of it. If you are familiar with the 80-10-10 diet, 10% fats are allowed. I am not 100% strict with either 80-10-10 or low fat high carb, or 100% fruit. I am in a transitional period and trying to eat as much raw as possible but sometimes my body just wants some fats. A little cashew’s over my pasta or avocado in my salads is ok in my book 😉

Leave a Reply

