Raw Noodles: Two ways

3 Comments

One of my favorite thai dishes is a big bowl of comforting warm pad thai. Although, they tend to be pretty greasy & salty! Since I’m cutting down on my oil, salt, and cooked foods, I decided to try to satisfy the craving with this. Bingo! Delish. You can even warm it up slightly in the dehydrator if you have some time. Enjoy!


photo 5Raw Pad Thai Noodles

Makes: 2-3 servings

Sauce:

1 Mango

1 Teaspoon of minced Ginger

1/2 red pepper

Splash of Orange Juice

2 soaked pitted dates

2 tablespoon of tahini or raw almond butter

one garlic clove

1 jalapeño

2 tablespoon coconut aminos (or 1 tablespoon of tamari, nona shoyu, or soy sauce)

juice from 1 lime

water as needed

Blend all the above ingredients together in a blender or a food processor. Add touches of water to it until the desired consistency is reached. You want it to be a little thick so it sticks to your noodles. Season to taste. 

 photo

noodles & toppings:

You can use anything you like for noodles – cucumbers & sweet potato would be good too!

I used: 

zucchini

summer squash

carrot

green onions

red cabbage

yellow pepper

sprouts

romaine leaves, chopped

hemp seeds and/or sesame seeds

cilantro

Spiralize or thinly slice your zucchini, squash and carrots. Slice very small, the yellow pepper, red cabbage, & green onions. Mix dressing with the noodles and veggies then serve over crisp chopped romaine. Top with minced cilantro, and sprinkle with hemp seeds and/or sesame seeds. Top with sprouts. Serve with lime wedges and squeeze juice on before eating.

heart

Cool as a cucumber. A perfect dish for a hot summer day. Crunchy, hydrating, a little sweet, a little spicy. Mmmmm…..

photo 1

Cucumber Noodles with Mango Basil Coconut Sauce

one cucumber, spiralized or julienned very thin or sliced into rounds to dip

Sauce

1 mango

juice from one lime

1/2 cup young thai coconut meat (I buy mine frozen from my local health food store)

10 fresh basil leaves, more for garnish

1/4 cup (or more) of coconut water

*optional:if you want to add a little spice, add your favorite hot pepper (I like habanero or jalapeño)

Blend or puree everything together. I like to start with a 1/4 cup of liquid to thin out and add more accordingly to get your desired thinness. You want it to remain someone thick so it sticks to the noodles.  Pour finished sauce over cucumber noodles. Garnish with more basil. 

*Kick up the flavor even more with thai basil instead of regular~

photo 3Come back and let me know if you made these~

Good Eats

3 thoughts on “Raw Noodles: Two ways

  1. I just made the Raw Pad Thai Noodles and they are incredible. The sauce is full of flavor and quick to make. It’s so simple for a quick lunch or dinner. I had a hard time not eating it right out of the blender. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  2. Need help! All the awesomely raw sauces up tomatoes, avocado, or mango and I’m allergic to all these! I love them, so it’s been sad to not have them. If I cheat, I regret it. So,do u have any ideas for what I could do instead?

Leave a comment