Smoothies, Chia pudding, & healing tonics.

4 Comments
Hello everyone! Happy February! While its the shortest month of the year, I plan to get a lot of things accomplished. For one, I am planning on gaining new superpowers from all the smoothies I’ve been drinking. Two, I’m opening up an etsy shop & plan to have the grand opening by end of this month. Three, I am super excited for tax returns. Not really an accomplishment but a feat non-the-less. Another year notched in my belt working at my company and another year as a homeowner. Speaking of my home, I’m trying to rid the clutter and live more simply. Its a tough job, I tell ya. I like “stuff” too much.
So back to the smoothie superpowers. I don’t know what’s gotten into me but I am a smoothie addict right now. I haven’t been quite in the mood to sit and nosh on a big bowl of greens. I’d much rather sip those greens, sweetly and slowly over the day. So I’ve been making up to 3 different smoothies each morning to sip on.  I have been having a blast with different combo’s. The one stop shop for great recipes is Young and Raw on Facebook. In fact they are doing their 2nd Smoothie Challenge starting after Valentines Day. All you have to do is sign up here – It’s FREE. You will get emails with shopping lists for each week along with very brilliant and delicious smoothie recipes. EVERY one of their recipes I’ve tried I have fallen in love with. 
Here’s a sample: 
Cilantro Pineapple Detox Smoothie
1 Cup Frozen or Fresh pineapple
1 Lime, Peeled
1 handful of Cilantro
1-2 Leaves of Kale or handful of greens of your choice
1 Cup of Water (no milk)
3 Rawesome Facts about this Smoothie!
1. Cilantro Detoxes heavy metals from the blood. 
2. Cilantro helps to naturally combat PMS symptoms and can help to balance your mood. 
3. Mango can help clear pores and you can even use it externally to brighten skin and clear
dead skin cells. (do patch test first to test for allergic response!)
4. Lime can help you “get things moving” and relieve constipation. It’s also a classic source
of Vitamin C 🙂
Here is a sample of what I’ve been taking to work. I drink one large green smoothie before leaving for NYC. A few hours later I sip on a big fruit smoothie. This week has been blueberries, coconut water, chia seeds, maca, vanilla, bananas, kale, spinach powder & spirulina. YUM!!! This day my light snack was celery and peanut butter. Then on my way home I drink another fruit smoothie. By the time I’m ready for dinner, I just want something light, which means steamed or roasted veggies.

I have felt ALIVE this week and completely satiated with smoothies as my meals. Typically I am craving bread or sweets and snacking on all kinds of things throughout the day. Since I started sipping on smoothies all day, I feel totally satisfied and not craving anything else. This can only mean one thing – I’m giving my body what it needs! I’m pretty sure my intestines are happy because they are getting a rest too. Drinking blended fruit and veggies help breakdown the roughage so it is easier on your system.  I feel like I can hear my guts sighing in relief. Its good to give them a vacation every so often. I feel so good eating this way, that I am going to continue this for a little bit. 
Due to all the smoothies being made and guzzled down,  my house has been stocked with fresh produce. This sight makes me a very happy girl. 🙂 You should see all the greens in my fridge!
I’ve been really digging chia pudding lately as well. I add extra almond milk to make it soupy and add diced or pureed fruit. Its like fruit soup that gives you an abundance of energy and good fiber! I also add a tablespoon to my smoothies. Think of it as lubricant for your joints & your guts! Chia pudding couldn’t be any easier to make. Its a good staple to keep in the fridge. 

Vanilla Chia Pudding
(vegan, gluten-free, raw)
2/3 cup chia seeds
2 cups unsweetened organic non-dairy milk like almond or rice 
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract or fresh vanilla powder
Combine chia seeds, almond milk, cinnamon and vanilla in a glass bowl, stir well to combine. Cover with plastic wrap or lid. Or add those ingredients to a glass mason jar with a lid, tighten and shake well to combine (this is what I did). Refrigerate overnight. Stir well before serving, spoon into bowls and top with a dash of cinnamon and a little sweetener, if you like. 
Facts about chia seeds:
(taken from Young & Raw)

1. Chia seeds have been used in ancient cultures for many medicinal purposes such as helping to ease joint pain and digestive issues.
2. Chia seeds are filled with omega 3 and omega 6 fatty acids. Omega 3 fatty acids are one of the most powerful anti-inflammatory compounds in nature, as well as being great for the brain. 
3. Chia seeds are also a complete protein, meaning that they contain all 8 essential amino acids that your body cannot synthesize on its own, and must get from food. 
4. Chia seeds are able to absorb 9 time their own volume in water, so they can support your body in retaining its much needed water and electrolytes.
5. Chia seeds are awesome for helping to clean out the digestive tract. They contain high amounts of both soluble and insoluble fiber, as well as drawing water to themselves. This adds bulk and water to the stools, which is important for keeping your system clean and clear.
6. Chia seeds will also help your body absorb the fat soluble vitamins A, C, E and K, which need fat in order to be absorbed. They are great for helping to reduce keep blood sugar levels stable and helping to bind to cholesterol and helping to usher it out of the body.
I know it doesn’t look appealing but this combo was AMAZING. I don’t have measurements but this is what I added to the vanilla chia pudding: matcha powder, coconut sugar, vanilla almond milk, vanilla powder, cinnamon, and cardamom.
 With the flu “epidemic” going around, I’ve upgraded my regular Elderberry syrup to the super powered Immune System Syrup. Really good stuff. 
I’ve been making my healing tonic for my honey & I so we are both shielded from those germies that are flying around. I have made him a believer with this tonic! 🙂 He swears this has stopped colds from coming on. I too, swear by it’s healing properties. 
Healing Tonic
mug of warm water
1-2 teaspoons of Apple cider Vinegar (organic, raw, and unfiltered)
1 tablespoon of  Manuka Honey (or any raw honey)
juice from half a lemon
pinch of turmeric
pinch of cayenne pepper

optional: goji berries and coconut butter or coconut oil. I like the hint of sweetness it gives! 


Let me know if you sign up for the Smoothie Challenge! 

4 thoughts on “Smoothies, Chia pudding, & healing tonics.

  1. Yum! I'm so hooked on smoothies too right now! I've been doing two smoothies and a blended soup a day! A heard a few people recently say they've been having a lot of smoothies. Wonder what it is? 😉

  2. Omg…it looks so yummy! I will definitely try this!I just started my raw journey for a week and I am looking for inspiration and some like-mind buddies on the internetmuch love,tiffanykeepgoing.blogspot.com

  3. Pingback: Chlorophyll for Energy. Benefits & drink recipe! |

Leave a comment